Cooper McKenzie
Brock Netter

Brock Netter

Brock is SOSA's primary writer and has worked for the Coshocton Tribune, the Kankakee Daily Journal (Ill.) and the Vinton-Jackson Courier. He's a two-time award-winning journalist, a lifelong WWE fan, a suffering Bengals fan and calls the sidelines his home.

McKenzie, Thomas, Webb, Stunteback headline all-SOC baseball honors

The Southern Ohio Conference released its all-league baseball honors on Wednesday.

Brock Netter, Staff Writer

Southern Ohio Sports Authority is presented by OhioHealth.

PORTSMOUTH — Just like Wheelersburg’s softball program headlined the SOC II’s all-league honors, the Pirates’ baseball team followed suit after taking home the conference crown. 

Minford’s Adam Crank throws a runner out earlier this season. Crank is a first-team all-league honoree.
CREDIT: Brock Netter/SOSA

The Pirates took home hefty hardware when the Southern Ohio Conference released its all-conference teams on Wednesday. 

Cooper McKenzie was tabbed as the Player of the Year, teammate Hunter Thomas was named the Pitcher of the Year and Derek Moore was named the league’s Coach of the Year. 

Clean sweep. 

Over on the SOC I side of things, Symmes Valley’s Brayden Webb was named the Player of the Year and Ironton St. Joe’s Blake Stunteback took home Pitcher of the Year honors.

Symmes Valley coach Chad Renfroe was named the Coach of the Year. 

McKenzie and Thomas were joined on the first-team list by teammate Creed Warren, Valley’s George Arnett and Carter Nickel, Minford’s Aodhan Queen and Adam Crank, Waverly’s L.T. Jordan, Oak Hill’s Rylan Sams, West’s Jakob Tipton, South Webster’s Robert Martin, Eastern’s Dylan Morton and Northwest’s Orville Tackett

On the second-team list was Wheelersburg’s Jake Darling and Connor Estep, Valley’s Tate Queen and Chase Morrow, Minford’s Cole Borland, Waverly’s Jase Hurd, South Webster’s Jaren Lower, Oak Hill’s Gavin Howell, West’s Trevor Fike, Northwest’s Kaleb Seals and Eastern’s Nate Havens

Joining Webb and Stuntebeck with SOC I first-team honors is Ironton St. Joe’s Michael Mahlmeister and Elijah Rowe, Notre Dame’s Alex Cassidy and Matt Boldman, Symmes Valley’s Levi Best, Clay’s Mitchell King, Green’s Nathaniel Brannigan, Western’s Trey Satterfield and East’s Landen Pernell

The second-team list features Symmes Valley’s Levi Niece and Nick Strow, New Boston’s Myles Beasley, Brady Voiers and Ecter Brady, Notre Dame’s Dylan Seison, Clay’s Malachi Roper, Western’s Chase Carter and East’s Ethan Rase.

Share this post