Jacob Miller
Derrick Webb

Derrick Webb

Derrick is SOSA's chief content coordinator and has worked for the Chillicothe Gazette, the Portsmouth Daily Times and Eleven Warriors. He's a 13-time award-winning journalist, a self-proclaimed baseball purist, a suffering Bengals fan and has never met a stranger.

Liberty Union’s Jacob Miller named MSL-Buckeye POY, all-conference teams released

Liberty Union's Jacob Miller leads the list of honorees.

Derrick Webb, Staff Writer

Southern Ohio Sports Authority is presented by OhioHealth.

BALTIMORE — When the MSL-Buckeye decided on its all-conference baseball honors, the Player of the Year discussion was a brief one.

That’s because Liberty Union senior Jacob Miller is still in uniform.

The Lions’ right-handed superstar pitcher and University of Louisville commit was a POY shoo-in after leading his team to an outright league title.

Miller was joined by teammate Jon Wheeler with first-team all-league honors, as well as Cayden Carroll and Austin Ety on the second-team list, and Colton Hutchinson with honorable mention accolades.

Bloom-Carroll’s Tyler Parks and Beau Wisecarver made the first-team list, as well as Amanda-Clearcreek’s Trent Hedges and Peyton Cassley. Circleville’s Nick Burns and Nolan West are also first-team honorees, as well as Fairfield Union’s Ronnie Rowley, Logan Elm’s Braylen Baker, Teays Valley’s Peyton Weiler and Tommy Williams, and Hamilton Township’s Kaden Kiser.

Second-team selections include Fairfield Union’s Malachi Palmer, Logan Elm’s Garrett Summers and Gavin Griffey, Hamilton Township’s Josh Woods, Teays Valley’s Tyler Love and Landon Guisinger, Circleville’s Tate DeBord and Carsen Cox, Bloom-Carroll’s Ayden Anderson, and Amanda’s Ryan Chambers and Cade Young.

Honorable mention selections are as follows: Bloom-Carroll’s Evan Dozer, Amanda’s Hunter Matheny, Hamilton Township’s Brad Butcher, Logan Elm’s Carson Summers, and Circleville’s Scottie Moats.


Share this post