Derrick Webb

Derrick Webb

Derrick is SOSA's chief content coordinator and has worked for the Chillicothe Gazette, the Portsmouth Daily Times and Eleven Warriors. He's a 13-time award-winning journalist, a self-proclaimed baseball purist, a suffering Bengals fan and has never met a stranger.

Adena’s Martin, South Webster’s Maloney headline area’s All-Ohio volleyball honors

The Ohio High School Volleyball Coaches Association announced its All-Ohio teams on Sunday.

Derrick Webb, Staff Writer

COLUMBUS — Two of the area’s best volleyball talents are included in the state’s top group in their respective Divisions.

The Ohio High School Volleyball Coaches Association released their All-Ohio honors on Sunday and Adena’s Jenna Martin and South Webster’s Faith Maloney both earned first-team all-state honors.

Martin has been a terror for opposing defenses in Division III, tallying 207 kills, 23 aces and 58 blocks for the 25-2 Warriors. She’s helped Adena win conference, sectional, district and regional championships.

Meanwhile, Maloney has done the same in Scioto County and in Division IV, leading her Jeeps to their first-ever state tournament appearance while posting 362 kills, 52 aces, 54 blocks and 96 digs.

Adena coach Laura Smith has also been honored as the Ohio Division III Coach of the Year. She has her Warriors in a state semifinal for the first time since 2014.

Also appearing on the list is Vinton County’s Cameron Zinn in Divison II, as well as Bloom-Carroll’s McKenna Wiseman. Zinn is a third-team honoree while Wiseman earned honorable mention honors.

In Division III, joining Martin with All-Ohio honors, is Wheelersburg’s Ryleigh Meeker and Westfall’s Marissa Mullins. Both Meeker and Mullins led their teams to district titles and both are second-team all-state honorees.

Adena’s Ellie Harper, Zane Trace’s Lexi Scott and Huntington’s Megan Steele have all earned third-team all-state status, representing the Scioto Valley Conference in grand fashion.

Huntington’s Allison Basye, Westfall’s Claire Latham, and Southeastern’s Lexie Lockwood and Hannah Lougheed are all honorable mention all-state honorees in Division III.

Maloney is joined by teammate Graci Claxon on the Division IV list, who is an honorable mention selection.

Share this post