Zane Miller, Austin Sommers
SOSA Staff

SOSA Staff

Minford’s Miller, Valley’s Sommers headline SOC boys soccer honors

The Southern Ohio Conference released all-league soccer honors on Tuesday.

SOSA Staff

MINFORD — All year long, Minford’s Zane Miller and Valley’s Austin Sommers were two of the most dangerous players in the Southern Ohio Conference. 

Anytime the ball was at their feet, it often found the back of the net. 

Miller leads the Falcons with 26 goals alongside six assists as the Falcons have captured an SOC II, sectional and district championships so far. 

Meanwhile, Sommers led the Indians with 30 goals and 13 assists to help his team claim SOC I and sectional championships.

Their efforts on the field helped them both earn Player of the Year honors.

Minford’s Levi Coriell and New Boston’s Brady Voiers earned honors as Defensive Players of the Year, while Minford’s Jacob Hackworth and Valley’s Jacob Perry were named Coaches of the Year.

Joining Miller and Coriell on the SOC II’s first-team list are teammates Jacob Lewis, Adam Crank, Luke Radar, Charlie Neal, Ethan Cordle and Myles Montgomery, Wheelersburg’s Max Hagans, Jackson Schwamburger, Nolan Wright, Connor Estep and Braxton Rose, South Webster’s Trae Zimmerman, Connor Bender, Zander Rawlins and Jaren Lower, Waverly’s Elijah McCain, Caleb Boyer and Keagen Smith, Northwest’s Jay Jenkins and Levi Bruch and West’s Carter Essman.

Earning second-team SOC II honors is Minford’s Gavin Downey, Sam Tieman and Dylan Brooks, Wheelersburg’s Jacob Saxby, Nathan Sylvia and Preslee Etterling, South Webster’s Jeremiah Smith and Will Collins, Waverly’s Drake Teeters and Aaron Haynes, West’s Landon Perkins and Andrew Abrams and Northwest’s Caleb Lewis.

Joining Sommers with first-team SOC I honors are teammates Lucie Ashkettle, Bryce Stuart, Davey Petry, M.J. Basham, Colt Buckle, J.R. Holbrook and Chris Queen, Ironton St. Joe’s Zach Johnson, Elijah Rowe, Michael Mahlmeister, Blake Stuntebeck and Brady Medinger, New Boston’s Preston Jackson, Luke Henson and Dalton Jackson, Clay’s Malachi Loper, Jack Holbrook and Carson Proginski, and Western’s Mike Bennett and Noah Whitt.

Valley’s Chase Powell, Chase Ruby and Braxton Dillow, Ironton St. Joe’s Dru Canter, Bryson Burcham and Paul Delaney, New Boston’s Levi Bowman and Josh Tabor, Clay’s Nathan Penn and Liam Garrison and Western’s Sean Kerns earned second-team honors.

Share this post