Lucas Hanes
Derrick Webb

Derrick Webb

Derrick is SOSA's chief content coordinator and has worked for the Chillicothe Gazette, the Portsmouth Daily Times and Eleven Warriors. He's a 13-time award-winning journalist, a self-proclaimed baseball purist, a suffering Bengals fan and has never met a stranger.

Unioto’s Hanes, Miller win SVC POY honors, all-league teams released

The SVC released its all-league soccer teams Thursday morning.

Derrick Webb, Staff Writer

CHILLICOTHE — A top-tier Unioto soccer duo earned top-tier honors in the Scioto Valley Conference on Thursday.

Unioto’s Avery Miller has been named the SVC’s Player of the Year.
CREDIT: Derrick Webb/SOSA

The Shermans’ Lucas Hanes and Avery Miller were each garnered with SVC Player of the Year honors after leading their respective teams to conference titles.

Hanes, who scored his 50th career goal last week, has led Unioto’s boys to a 12-3-2 mark and a Gold Ball. Meanwhile, Miller has anchored her Shermans to a 10-4-3 record and a Gold Ball of their own.

Also earning special honors were Zane Trace’s Lily Rose, Piketon’s Natalie Cooper and Unioto’s Micah Geise. Each of those names earned Goalie of the Year honors. Coach of the Year honors were earned by Unioto’s Brandon Hanes on the boys side and Unioto’s Jeremy Clark on the girls side.

Earning first-team all-league honors on the boys side was Unioto’s Cameron Thompson, Ashton Sigler, River Pettigrew and Antonio Cruz, Zane Trace’s Ethan Nelson, Brayden Jarrell and Ivan Chavez, Westfall’s Brady Mullins, Southeastern’s Jacob Lenox, and Piketon’s Dane Morgensen.

Piketon’s Sage Rider, Southeastern’s Parker George, Unioto’s Joe Lafreniere, Westfall’s Colt Reisinger and Zane Trace’s Judah Hanks are all honorable mention honorees.

As for the girls, Unioto’s Karlee Renner, Arielle Pelletier, Gracie Heath and Jaidyn McKell, Piketon’s Olivia MacCrae, Whitney Dean and Madison Dean, Southeastern’s Rachel Morgan, Westfall’s Ashli Allen, and Zane Trace’s Brooklynn Wade are all first-team all-league honorees.

Making up the honorable mention list are Piketon’s Aliah Crace, Southeastern’s Tamra Elliott, Unioto’s Autumn Stanger, Westfall’s Cloe Gardner and Zane Trace’s Hannah Pickerill.

Share this post