Elijah Vogelsong
Derrick Webb

Derrick Webb

Derrick is SOSA's chief content coordinator and has worked for the Chillicothe Gazette, the Portsmouth Daily Times and Eleven Warriors. He's a 13-time award-winning journalist, a self-proclaimed baseball purist, a suffering Bengals fan and has never met a stranger.

Webb, Cottle, Vogelsong, Eblin headline all-SOC softball honors

The Southern Ohio Conference released its all-league baseball honors on Saturday.

Derrick Webb, Staff Writer

Clay’s Clay Cottle is the SOC I’s Pitcher of the Year.
CREDIT: Derrick Webb/SOSA

PORTSMOUTH — The Southern Ohio Conference released its all-league baseball honors on Saturday and a quartet of familiar names headline the lists.

In the SOC I, Symmes Valley’s Brayden Webb was named the conference’s Player of the Year while Clay’s Clay Cottle was selected as the Pitcher of the Year. Minford’s Elijah Vogelsong is the Player of the Year in the SOC II while Waverly’s Derek Eblin takes home Pitcher of the Year honors.

Clay’s Marc Cottle is the SOC I’s Coach of the Year while Winford’s Anthony Knittel is the Coach of the Year in the SOC II.

Joining Webb and Cottle with first-team all-league honors in the SOC I is Clay’s Shaden Malone and Jaden Jessee, Symmes Valley’s Caden Brammer, Ironton St. Joe’s Jackson Rowe and Jimmy Mahlmeister, Notre Dame’s Caleb Nichols, Green’s Levi Singleton, Western’s Trey Satterfield and East’s Kyle Winston.

Second-team honors in the SOC I were earned by Clay’s Evan Woods and Carson Porginski, Symmes Valley’s Devin Renfroe and Levi Best, Ironton St. Joe’s Michael Mahlmeister, Notre Dame’s Dylan Seison, Green’s Wiley Sanders, Western’s Sean Kerns and East’s Ethan Rase.

Joining Vogelsong and Eblin with first-team SOC II honors is Minford’s Matthew Risner and Adam Crank, Waverly’s Alex Boles, Wheelersburg’s Eric Green and Cooper McKenzie, South Webster’s Robert Martin, Valley’s George Arnett, West’s Luke Howard, Northwest’s Dakota Secrest, Oak Hill’s Flint Barger and Eastern’s Logan Clemmons.

Second-team honors in the SOC II were earned by Minford’s Grant Wheeler and Aodhan Queen, Waverly’s JT Barnett and LT Jordan, Wheelersburg’s Case Dyer and Ethan Ison, South Webster’s Billy Jones, Valley’s Chase Morrow, West’s Luke Bradford, Northwest’s Kaleb Seals, Oak Hill’s Landon Hines and Eastern’s Jacob Overly.

Share this post