Layla Hattan
Derrick Webb

Derrick Webb

Derrick is SOSA's chief content coordinator and has worked for the Chillicothe Gazette, the Portsmouth Daily Times and Eleven Warriors. He's a 13-time award-winning journalist, a self-proclaimed baseball purist, a suffering Bengals fan and has never met a stranger.

Take a look at the SHAC’s all-conference baseball, softball honors

The SHAC released its all-conference honors this week.

SOSA Staff Report

WINCHESTER — The Southern Hills Athletic Conference has released its all-conference baseball and softball honors with a quartet of conference title teams leading the lists.

Eastern Brown’s baseball Warriors had three players headline the all-league list while Whiteoak, who topped Division II, had three represent the team as well. On the softball side, Eastern Brown led the way with two selections while Fairfield had a league-high four honorees.

In Division I, Eastern Brown’s Wyatt Haupt, Colton Vaughn and Ethan Tracy earned all-league honors, as did North Adams’ Cade Meade, RJ Taylor and Seth Meade, Lynchburg-Clay’s Patrick Meddock and Chase Smaltz, and Ripley’s Spencer Gray.

Whiteoak’s Landon Barnett, Ian Griffith and Luken Roades headlined the conference’s Division II selections and were joined by Manchester’s Jackson Poole and Kyle Reaves, Peebles’ Zane Porter, Fairfield’s Wyatt Collins and Cade Miller, and Fayetteville’s Ben Gunter.

Eastern Brown’s Steve Goetz and Whiteoak’s Chris Veidt were named the SHAC Coaches of the Year.

As for softball, in Division I, Eastern Brown’s Sophia Edmisten and Riley Kattwinkel led the way and were joined by Ripley’s Brycelyn Short, Lynchburg-Clay’s Haleigh Snider, and North Adams’ Kaylee Tumbleson.

Division II honors were earned by Fairfield’s Caitlin Campbell, Halle Hamilton, Layla Hattan and Caitlin Quickle, Fayetteville’s Madison Brockman, Izabella Waddle and Taylor Mechlin, Manchester’s Hannah Hobbs, Brooke Kennedy and Yasmin Lucas, Peebles’ Marisa Moore, Lanie Johnston and Kyndell Lloyd, and Whiteoak’s Jaylie Parr.

The SHAC Coaches of the Year are Peebles’ Doug McFarland and Fairfield’s Mark Dettwiller.

Players of the Year in both sports will be announced on Monday evening at the all-conference awards banquet.

Share this post