All-District basketball
Derrick Webb

Derrick Webb

Derrick is SOSA's chief content coordinator and has worked for the Chillicothe Gazette, the Portsmouth Daily Times and Eleven Warriors. He's a 13-time award-winning journalist, a self-proclaimed baseball purist, a suffering Bengals fan and has never met a stranger.

Waverly’s Robertson, LE’s Ward, NB’s Sexton lead area OPSWA all-district honorees

Take a look at the OPSWA's all-district basketball selections.

Derrick Webb, Staff Writer

ATHENS — The Ohio Prep Sports Writers Association released its 2020-21 All-Southeast District boys basketball list Saturday morning while three names in SOSA’s coverage led the way.

Waverly’s Trey Robertson, Logan Elm’s Isaac Ward and New Boston’s Kyle Sexton all earned Player of the Year honors.

Robertson and Ward shared the award in Division II. Robertson led the Southern Ohio Conference in scoring at 25.7 points per game while Ward, at 20.2 points each night, led his Braves to a Mid-State League title. Sexton paced his Tigers to an SOC I title and has them playing in a Division IV district final.

Here’s a full look at the coverage area’s all-district selections:


Chillicothe’s Maxwell Lee was the lone area selection in Division I. He was an honorable mention selection.

Earning first-team honors in Division II, alongside Robertson and Ward, are Jackson’s Braxton Hammond, Unioto’s Isaac Little and Hillsboro’s Ryan Scott.

Second-team honors in Division II were earned by Logan Elm’s Gabe Chalfin, Fairfield Union’s Ryan Magil, Washington’s Tanner Lemaster and McClain’s Bryson Badgley.

Unioto’s Isaac Little is a first-team all-district selection.
CREDIT: Derrick Webb/SOSA

Logan Elm’s Jason Sailor, Fairfield Union’s Charlie Bean, Miami Trace’s Logan Rodgers, Unioto’s Cameron DeBord, Jackson’s Drew Bragg, Hillsboro’s Hunter Price and Waverly’s Zeke Brown are third-team honorees.

Special mention recipients include Logan Elm’s Jeremy Wietelmann, Miami Trace’s Andrew Guthrie, Circleville’s Evan Justice and Unioto’s Tayvion Galloway.

Logan Elm’s Doug Stiverson and Hillsboro’s Miles Burton split Division II Coach of the Year honors.


Adena’s Logan Bennett leads the area’s Division III first-team all-district selections and is joined by Piketon’s Chris Chandler, Wheelersburg’s Matthew Miller and Eastern Brown’s Colton Vaughn

Second-team honorees include Adena’s Preston Sykes, Eastern Brown’s Luke Garrett, North Adams’ Jayden Hesler, Northwest’s Brycen Carver, Minford’s Trenton Zimmerman, West’s Luke Howard and Rodney Moore, and Wheelersburg’s J.J. Truitt.

Westfall’s Lucas Blackburn, Adena’s Jarrett Garrison, Piketon’s Brody Fuller, Zane Trace’s Nalin Robinson, Eastern Brown’s Trent Hundley, North Adams’ Bransyn Copas, Lynchburg-Clay’s Ian Waits, Minford’s Elijah Vogelsong, West’s Noah Coleman and Wheelersburg’s Carter McCorkle are all third-team all-district recipients.

Wheelersburg’s J.J. Truitt is a second-team all-district selection.
CREDIT: Derrick Webb/SOSA

Special mention selections are Adena’s Nate Throckmorton, Piketon’s Tra Swayne and Levi Gullion, Northwest’s Connor Lintz, Minford’s Matthew Risner and West’s Marion Phillips.

The Division III OPSWA District Player of the Year is Fairland’s Aiden Porter while Coach of the Year honors were earned by Eastern Brown’s Rob Beucler and West’s Caleb McClanahan.


Sexton, who is the Division IV District Player of the Year for the second consecutive time, is joined with first-team honors by teammate Tanner Voiers, Ironton St. Joe’s J.C Damron, Symmes Valley’s Luke Leith, Peebles’ Oakley Burba, South Webster’s Trae Zimmerman and Green’s Levi Sampson.

Second-team honorees are Ironton St. Joe’s Jimmy Mahlmeister, Peebles’ Dawson Mills, Whiteoak’s Landon Barnett and Bradley Ashbaugh, Valley’s George Arnett, Notre Dame’s Johnathan Strickland, Green’s Ethan Huffman, Clay’s Shaden Malone and New Boston’s De’Von Jones.

Symmes Valley’s Drew Scherer, Paint Valley’s Cordell Grubb, Western’s Kolten Miller, Fairfield’s Conner Priest, Valley’s Bryce Stuart and New Boston’s Chase Clark are third-team honorees.

Division IV Coach of the Year honors were given to Trimble’s Howie Caldwell.

Share this post