Trey Robertson
Derrick Webb

Derrick Webb

Derrick is SOSA's chief content coordinator and has worked for the Chillicothe Gazette, the Portsmouth Daily Times and Eleven Warriors. He's a 13-time award-winning journalist, a self-proclaimed baseball purist, a suffering Bengals fan and has never met a stranger.

Waverly’s Robertson, LE’s Ward, Adena’s Bennett, NB’s Sexton win District 14 POY honors

The District 14 Coaches Association releases its all-district boys basketball honors on Wednesday.

Derrick Webb, Staff Writer

Four area basketball players earned high honors Wednesday morning as Waverly’s Trey Robertson, Logan Elm’s Isaac Ward, Adena’s Logan Bennett and New Boston’s Kyle Sexton took home District 14 Player of the Year honors.

The awards, which were released by the District 14 Coaches Association, were broken into all four divisions. Robertson and Ward were the co-Players of the Year in Divisions I and II while Bennett won the honor in Division III and Sexton earned it in Division IV.

Robertson led the Tigers in scoring and has paced the team to a sectional title while Ward has done the same for the MSL-Buckeye champion Braves. Bennett, also the SVC Player of the Year, has spearheaded conference and sectional titles while Sexton has done the same for the Tigers.

Here’s a look at the rest of the District 14 all-district boys hoops selections.


Making up the rest of the first-team honorees are Hillsboro’s Ryan Scott and Hunter Price, as well as Unioto’s Isaac Little.

Second-team honorees include Logan Elm’s Gabe Chalfin, McClain’s Bryson Badgley, Miami Trace’s Logan Rodgers, Washington’s Tanner Lemaster, Waverly’s Zeke Brown and Chillicothe’s Maxwell Lee.

Chillicothe’s Joel Barnes, Circleville’s Craig Fleck, Hillsboro’s Brad Miller, Logan Elm’s Jason Sailor, McClain’s Braden Wright, Miami Trace’s Andrew Guthrie, Washington’s Micai Claggett, Unioto’s Cameron DeBord and Waverly’s Mark Stulley are all honorable mention all-district selections.

The Division I/II Coach of the Year is Hillsboro’s Miles Burton.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is MG_9041-scaled-e1609645920287-1024x557.jpeg
Unioto’s Isaac Little is a first-team all-district honoree.
CREDIT: Derrick Webb/SOSA


Joining Bennett with first-team all-district honors is his teammate Preston Sykes, the second part of the Warriors’ lethal one-two punch.

That duo is joined by Wheelersburg’s pair of Matthew Miller and J.J. Truitt while Eastern Brown’s Luke Garrett and Colton Vaughn are also first-team honorees. Piketon’s Chris Chandler, the SVC’s leading scorer, joins the list as well.

Second-team honorees include Minford’s Elijah Vogelsong and Trenton Zimmerman, North Adams’ Jayden Hesler, Westfall’s Lucas Blackburn, Zane Trace’s Nalin Robinson and Adena’s Jarrett Garrison.

Thir-team honorees are West Union’s Cameron Campbell, Northwest’s Brycen Carver, Eastern Brown’s Trent Hundley, Wheelersburg’s Carter McCorkle and Northwest’s Evan Lintz.

Adena’s Nate Throckmorton, Eastern Brown’s Ryan Boone, Huntington’s Caleb Smith, Lynchburg-Clay’s Brady Chisman, Minford’s Matthew Risner, North Adams’ Cade Meade, Northwest’s Jay Jenkins, Piketon’s Brody Fuller, West’s Luke Howard, Southeastern’s Cameron Hall, West Union’s Clayton Jones, Westfall’s Ashton Nunemaker, Wheelersburg’s Eli Swords and Zane Trace’s Ben Nichols are honorable mention selections.

The Division III Coach of the Year is Wheelersburg’s Steven Ater.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is MG_9870-scaled-e1611260691429-1024x577.jpeg
Adena’s Preston Sykes is a first-team all-district honoree.
CREDIT: Derrick Webb/SOSA


Clay’s Shaden Malone, Green’s Levi Sampson, Peebles’ Oakley Burba and Whiteoak’s Landon Barnett join Sexton with first-team all-district honors.

South Webster’s Trae Zimmerman, New Boston’s Tanner Voiers, Notre Dame’s Johnathan Strickland, Fairfield’s Conner Priest and Western’s Kolten Miller are second-team honorees while Paint Valley’s Cordell Grubb, Peebles’ Dawson Mills, Valley’s George Arnett, Whiteoak’s Bradley Ashbaugh, New Boston’s De’Von Jones and Manchester’s Isaiah Scott are third-team selections.

Clay’s Clay Cottle, Eastern’s Neil Leist, Fairfield’s Reese Teeters, Green’s Ethan Huffman, Manchester’s Brayden Young, New Boston’s Chase Clark, Notre Dame’s Caleb Nichols, Paint Valley’s Dax Estep, Peebles’ Easton Wesley, East’s Landehn Pernell, South Webster’s Cam Carpenter, Valley’s Bryce Stuart, Western’s Noah Whitt and Whiteoak’s Luken Roades are honorable mention selections.

The Division IV co-Coaches of the Year are New Boston’s Adam Cox and Whiteoak’s Ryan Barnett.

Share this post