Ava Hassel
Derrick Webb

Derrick Webb

Derrick is SOSA's chief content coordinator and has worked for the Chillicothe Gazette, the Portsmouth Daily Times and Eleven Warriors. He's a 13-time award-winning journalist, a self-proclaimed baseball purist, a suffering Bengals fan and has never met a stranger.

Circleville’s McConnell, Wheelersburg’s Darnell, Peebles’ Justice, ND’s Hassel win District 14 POY honors

The District 14 Coaches Association releases its all-district girls basketball honors on Wednesday.

Derrick Webb, Staff Writer

Four area girls basketball players earned high honors Wednesday morning as Circleville’s Kenzie McConnell, Wheelersburg’s Kaylee Darnell, Peebles’ Jacey Justice and Notre Dame’s Ava Hassel took home District 14 Player of the Year honors.

The awards, which were released by the District 14 Coaches Association, were broken into all three divisions. McConnell was the Player of the Year in Division II while Darnell won the honor in Division III and Justice and Hassel shared it in Division IV.

McConnell led her team back to a district final while leading the Tigers in scoring while Darnell leads the Pirates in scoring and has them playing in a regional semifinal. Justice also has her team playing in a regional semifinal while Hassel led her team to a district final. Both lead their respective teams in scoring as well.

Here’s a look at the rest of the District 14 all-district boys hoops selections.

Miami Trace’s Magarah Bloom is a first-team all-district selection.
CREDIT: Derrick Webb/SOSA


Waverly’s Zoiee Smith and Paige Carter, McClain’s Bri Weller, Miami Trace’s Magarah Bloom join McConnell with first-team all-district honors.

Earning second-team recognition is Circleville’s Jaylah Captain, Hillsboro’s Gracie Dean, Unioto’s Avery Miller, Miami Trace’s Gracee Stewart, McClain’s Emma Stegbauer and Logan Elm’s Riley Schultz.

Honorable mention honors went to Chillicothe’s Jacey Harding, Circleville’s Morgan Blakeman, Hillsboro’s Bryanna Bledsoe, Logan Elm’s Anna Johnson, McClain’s Jaelyn Pitzer, Miami Trace’s Delaney Eakins, Unioto’s Carissa Wheeler, Washington’s Emily Semler and Waverly’s Carli Knight.

The Division II Coach of the Year is Waverly’s John Bonifield.


Darnell is joined by Eastern Brown’s Rylee Leonard, Huntington’s Allison Basye, North Adams’ DeLaney Harper, Southeastern’s Macie Graves and Fairfield’s Emma Fouch with first-team honors.

Second-team honors went to Adena’s Jadyn Smith, Lynchburg-Clay’s Sierra Benney, Minford’s Livi Shonkwiler, Northwest’s Haidyn Wamsley and Wheelersburg’s Alaina Keeney.

Adena’s Emma Garrison, Eastern Brown’s Mackenzie Gloff, North Adams’ Wylie Shipley, West’s Eden Cline and Westfall’s Mahaley Farmer were third-team honorees.

Adena’s Sydney Foglesong, Eastern Brown’s Emma Prine, Fairield’s Braylynn Haines, Huntington’s Katie Hirsch, Lynchburg-Clay’s Jade Massey, Minford’s Kynedi Davis, North Adams’ Braylie Jones, Northwest’s Valerie Copas, Piketon’s Bailey Vulgamore, West’s Lexi Deaver, Southeastern’s Cidney Huff, Valley’s Haley Whitt, West Union’s Alexa Rowe, Westfall’s Marissa Mullins, Wheelersburg’s Ellie Kallner and Zane Trace’s Lauren Lane were honorable mention selections.

The Division III Coach of the Year is Adena’s Andrew Day.

Eastern Brown’s Rylee Leonard is a first-team all-district selection.
CREDIT: Derrick Webb/SOSA


Notre Dame’s Claire Dettwiller and Peebles’ Lilly Gray joined their teammates with first-team honors while Eastern’s Abby Cochenour, Paint Valley’s Olivia Smith, Manchester’s Brooke Kennedy and South Webster’s Bri Claxon completed the list.

Second-team honors were earned by New Boston’s Shelby Easter, Green’s Kasey Kimbler, Peebles’ Payton Johnson and South Webster’s Faith Maloney.

Green’s Kame Sweeney, Manchester’s Emily Sweeney, Notre Dame’s Isabel Cassidy, Paint Valley’s Abbi Stanforth and Western’s Kenzie Ferneau are third-team honorees.

Clay’s Shaley Munion, Eastern’s Addison Cochenour, Green’s Anna Knapp, Manchester’s Yasmin Lucas, New Boston’s Kenzie Whitley, Notre Dame’s Annie Dettwiller, Paint Valley’s Hanna Uhrig, Peebles’ Marissa Moore, South Webster’s Skylar Zimmerman, Western’s Brooklyn Tackett and Whiteoak’s Jaylie Parr are honorable mention honorees.

The Division IV Coach of the Year is Notre Dame’s J.D. McKenzie.

Share this post