Logan Bennett
Derrick Webb

Derrick Webb

Derrick is SOSA's chief content coordinator and has worked for the Chillicothe Gazette, the Portsmouth Daily Times and Eleven Warriors. He's a 13-time award-winning journalist, a self-proclaimed baseball purist, a suffering Bengals fan and has never met a stranger.

Adena’s Logan Bennett earns SVC POY award, all-league teams released

The Scioto Valley Conference announced its all-league boys basketball teams Wednesday morning.

Derrick Webb, Staff Writer

CHILLICOTHE — For the first time in his illustrious career, Adena’s Logan Bennett has been named his conference’s Player of the Year.

Unioto’s Isaac Little is a first-team all-SVC selection.
CREDIT: Derrick Webb/SOSA

Bennett led the Warriors to a 13-1 record in Scioto Valley Conference action, helping his team win its first outright league title since 2005-06. He’s the first Adena Warrior to win the award since Jonathan Thomas did so in 2015-16 — however, Thomas’ team didn’t win the league.

Bennett is currently averaging 16.5 points, 6.2 rebounds and 2.6 assists per game alongside 29 3-point field goals and a 70 percent free throw percentage.

Also earning hardware is Adena coach Kyle Bradley, who was named the conference’s Coach of the Year. The award is Bradley’s first such career honor.

Joining Bennett with first-team all-conference honors is teammate Preston Sykes, Unioto’s Isaac Little, Piketon’s Chris Chandler and Westfall’s Lucas Blackburn.

Sykes helped the Warriors win the conference title with 13.8 points and six rebounds per game, Little led the Tanks in scoring at 17.2 points per game, Chandler led the entire league in scoring at 17.4 points each night, and Blackburn averaged a double-double of 12.8 points and 10.6 rebounds.

Zane Trace sophomore Nalin Robinson, Piketon senior Brody Fuller, Adena senior Jarrett Garrison, Paint Valley junior Cordell Grubb and Unioto senior Cameron DeBord make up the five second-team all-SVC selections.

Earning third-team all-league honors were Southeastern’s Cameron Hall, Paint Valley’s Dax Estep, Zane Trace’ Ben Nichols, Piketon’s Levi Gullion and Huntington’s Caleb Smith.

Piketon’s Chris Chandler led the SVC in scoring this season at 17.4 points per game.
CREDIT: Derrick Webb/SOSA

Honorable mention selections were as follows: Adena’s Nate Throckmorton and Dillon McDonald, Huntington’s Dalton Black and Seth McCloskey, Paint Valley’s Traeden Jeffers and Cole Miller, Piketon’s Tra Swayne and Shane Leedy, Southeastern’s Aiden Estep and Ashton Allman, Unioto’s Tayvion Galloway and DeSean Branson, Westfall’s Ashton Nunemaker and Tyler Shipley, and Zane Trace’s Trey Miller and Kyle Stonerock.

Share this post