Preston Sykes
Derrick Webb

Derrick Webb

Derrick is SOSA's chief content coordinator and has worked for the Chillicothe Gazette, the Portsmouth Daily Times and Eleven Warriors. He's a 13-time award-winning journalist, a self-proclaimed baseball purist, a suffering Bengals fan and has never met a stranger.

Here’s where each area boys basketball team will start tournament runs

Take a look at where your favorite area boys basketball team will start its tournament run.

SOSA Staff Report

The area’s boys basketball programs learned of their first-round postseason fates Sunday afternoon as the Southeast Ohio District Athletic Board revealed tournament seeds.

Here’s a brief look at where each area team will begin its postseason run.


The area’s lone Division I team, Chillicothe (1-9) will travel to Newark on Feb. 23 for a sectional semifinal matchup. Tip is set for 7 p.m.


In the Division II, the coverage area’s highest seed is No. 2 Logan Elm (10-1), who will face off with No. 15 Miami Trace (6-6) in a sectional final at 7 p.m., Feb. 25.

Hillsboro (16-2) is a No. 3 seed and will face Gallia Academy while No. 4 Waverly (14-3) hosts Marietta. Both games will also begin at 7 p.m. on Feb. 25.

No. 9 McClain (11-5) will host New Lexington, No. 12 Fairfield Union (6-7) will travel to Sheridan, No. 7 Unioto (13-4) will host Athens and No. 6 Jackson (11-3) will host Vinton County.

All games are sectional finals and all will tip at 7 p.m., Feb. 25.

The lone sectional semifinal in Division II belongs to No. 17 Washington (2-11) and No. 16 Circleville (3-13). Those two will matchup at 7 p.m., Feb. 20.

Waverly’s Trey Robertson has helped the Tigers compile a 14-3 record this season.
CREDIT: Derrick Webb/SOSA


Wheelersburg (15-1) is a No. 2 seed in Division III and will await the winner of No. 18 Northwest (5-10) and No. 15 Zane Trace (5-10) in a sectional final at 7 p.m., Feb. 26. The Mohawks and Pioneers will face off on Feb. 22.

Meanwhile, Eastern Brown (19-1) is a No. 3 seed and will face the winner of River Valley and Alexander in a sectional final at 7 p.m., Feb. 26.

The No. 4 seed belongs to Adena (18-2). The Warriors will host Rock Hill on Feb. 22. The same night, No. 5 seeded South Point will host No. 28 Huntington (3-15) in a sectional semifinal.

Elsewhere in the division, Nelsonville-York will travel to No. 8 North Adams (10-6), Crooksville will go to No. 9 Minford (10-8), No. 21 Lynchburg-Clay (4-13) will head to Coal Grove, No. 26 Oak Hill (2-15) will pay a visit to No. 7 West (14-4) and No. 23 Southeastern (3-9) will go to Ironton.

Also in Division III, No. 6 Piketon (14-5) will host No. 27 West Union (2-12) while No. 22 Westfall (5-13) travels to Chesapeake.

All are sectional semifinals and all will begin at 7 p.m., Feb. 22.


The New Boston Tigers are the top seed in Division IV. The Tigers (17-1) will host the winner of No. 17 Eastern (3-13) and No. 16 Symmes Valley (8-10) in a sectional final at 7 p.m., Feb. 27. The Eagles and Vikings will meet on Feb. 24.

Also on Feb. 27, No. 9 Notre Dame (9-6) will travel to No. 8 South Webster (8-9) with a sectional title on the line.

No. 4 Valley (9-7) will await the winner of No. 20 Manchester (0-11) and Waterford while No. 5 Whiteoak (11-6) hosts either Eastern Meigs or No. 12 Western (5-7). Manchester and Western will both play in sectional semifinals on Feb. 24.

No. 18 Clay (4-14) will travel to No. 15 Paint Valley (7-13) on Feb. 24 in a sectional semifinal. The winner gets Trimble in a sectional final.

At the bottom of the bracket is No. 7 Peebles (6-4), who will await the winner of South Gallia and No. 23 East (0-14) in a sectional final on Feb. 27.

Meanwhile, No. 14 Green (6-9) will host Southern while Miller travels to No. 11 Fairfield (7-8). Both of those games are at 7 p.m., Feb. 24. The winner of the Fairfield-Miller matchup will travel to No. 6 Ironton St. Joe (9-4) for a sectional championship at 7 p.m., Feb. 27.

For a complete look at the Southeast District tournament brackets, click the links below.




Share this post