Ethan Kerns
Picture of Derrick Webb

Derrick Webb

Derrick is SOSA's chief content coordinator and has worked for the Chillicothe Gazette, the Portsmouth Daily Times and Eleven Warriors. He's a 13-time award-winning journalist, a self-proclaimed baseball purist, a suffering Bengals fan and has never met a stranger.

Kerns, Jolly, Erslan, Davidson headline area All-Ohio soccer honors

The Ohio Scholastic Soccer Coaches Association released its All-Ohio teams on Friday afternoon.

SOSA Staff Report

The Ohio Scholastic Soccer Coaches Association released its All-Ohio teams on Friday afternoon. Two well-known area names topped the lists.

Chillicothe’s Addie Erslan has earned a first-team All-Ohio nod.
CREDIT: Derrick Webb/SOSA

In Division II, Unioto’s Ethan Kerns was a first-team All-Ohio nod while Wheelersburg’s Aaron Jolly earned the same honor in Division III.

Kerns led the Shermans to their first district title since 2004 while Jolly paced the Pirates to their first-ever regional title.

Two FAC names also earned postseason accolades as Jackson goalkeeper Ty Broermann and McClain’s Braeden Bergstrom were second-team all-state selections in Division II.

Joining Jolly with all-state honors in Division III is teammate and goalkeeper Eric Green, a second-team honoree, who helped the Pirates give up just 13 goals all year.

North Adams’ Jayden Hesler is also a second-team all-state honoree, as is Ironton St. Joe’s Jimmy Malmeister, Lynchburg-Clay’s Connor Tyree and Valley’s Austin Sommers.

On the girls side, Chillicothe’s Addie Erslan is a first-team All-Ohio player in Division I. Erslan led the Cavaliers to a 14-3 mark and scored 20 goals, ending her career with 111.

In Division II, Unioto’s Sydney Free is a second-team All-Ohioan while Waverly’s Loren Moran joins her with that honor. Free pitched 13 shutouts this season in goal while Moran scored 30 goals.

Lynchburg-Clay’s Natasha Davidson earned a first-team All-Ohio nod in Division III after leading the Mustangs to a regional final appearance. Davidson was the District Player of the Year.

Earning second-team all-state honors in Division III is Wheelersburg’s Laney Eller, North Adams’ Karissa Buttelwerth, Southeastern’s Sierra Mitten, Ironton St. Joe’s Emma Whaley, Eastern Brown’s Caitlyn Wills, and Fairfield’s Cadence Saunders.

For a full list of All-Ohio selections, click here.

Share this post