Ava Hassel
Picture of Derrick Webb

Derrick Webb

Derrick is SOSA's chief content coordinator and has worked for the Chillicothe Gazette, the Portsmouth Daily Times and Eleven Warriors. He's a 13-time award-winning journalist, a self-proclaimed baseball purist, a suffering Bengals fan and has never met a stranger.

Notre Dame, South Webster pairs headline all-SOC volleyball honors

The Southern Ohio Conference released its all-league volleyball lists on Monday.

SOSA Staff Report

The Southern Ohio Conference released its all-league volleyball honors on Monday and two familiar names headlined the lists.

South Webster’s Faith Maloney is the SOC II Player of the Year.
CREDIT: Renee Nemeth/SOSA

In the SOC I, Notre Dame’s Claire Dettwiller was awarded Player of the Year honors after leading the Titans to a league crown and posting 219 kills, 14 aces, 34 blocks and 140 digs. Meanwhile, Dettwiller’s teammate Ava Hassel was named the SOC I’s Defensive Player of the Year. Hassel finished with a team-high 381 digs alongside 163 kills, 54 aces and 307 assists.

In the SOC II, South Webster’s duo of Faith Maloney and Graci Claxon snatched the top two conference honors. Maloney was named the Player of the Year after leading the Jeeps to a district championship alongside 327 kills, 74 aces, 96 blocks and 163 digs. Claxon is the SOC II’s Defensive POY after tallying a team-high 327 digs and 549 service receptions.

The SOC I’s Coach of the Year is Notre Dame’s Cassidy Roney while South Webster’s Darcee Claxon earned that title in the SOC II.

First-team all-league honorees in the SOC I include Notre Dame’s Dettwiller, Hassel, Chole Delabar and Annie Dettwiller, Clay’s Shaley Munion, Katie Fife and Jordyn Mathias, Western’s Brooklyn Leedy and Kenzi Ferneau, Symmes Valley’s Ellie Johnson and Alison Klaiber, New Boston’s Shelby Easter, Green’s Kame Sweeney and East’s Grace Smith.

Second-team honors were earned by Notre Dame’s Mallory Boland and Madison Brown, Clay’s Kyleigh Oliver and Kailey Ware, Western’s Paige Davis and Mea Henderson, Symmes Valley’s Kylee Jenkins and Kylee Thompson, New Boston’s Kenzie Whitley, Green’s Ava Jenkins, and East’s Caiden Maddix.

In the SOC II, South Webster’s Maloney, Claxon, Bri Claxon and Gwen Messer, Wheelersburg’s Kylee Barney, Lauren Jolly, Emily Boggs and Kaylee Darnell, Northwest’s Haidyn Wamsley and Reagan Lewis, Waverly’s Carli Knight, Minford’s Ally Coriell, West’s Eden Cline, Eastern’s Skylar White, Valley’s Rylee Morrow and Oak Hill’s Chloe Chambers earned first-team honors.

Second-team honors in the SOC II were earned by South Webster’s Isabella Claxon and Kendall Bender, Wheelersburg’s Ryleigh Meeker and Lyndsay Heimbach, Northwest’s Ava Jenkins and Audrey Knittel, Waverly’s Sarah Thompson, Minford’s Livi Shonkwiler, West’s Maelynn Howell, Eastern’s Andee Lester, Valley’s Tory Donini, and Oak Hill’s Baylee Howell.

Share this post