Caitlyn Wills
Picture of Derrick Webb

Derrick Webb

Derrick is SOSA's chief content coordinator and has worked for the Chillicothe Gazette, the Portsmouth Daily Times and Eleven Warriors. He's a 13-time award-winning journalist, a self-proclaimed baseball purist, a suffering Bengals fan and has never met a stranger.

Eastern’s Wills, Lynchburg’s Tyree earn POY honors, SHAC releases all-league soccer squads

The Southern Hills Athletic Conference released its all-league boys and girls soccer teams this week.

SOSA Staff Report

The Southern Hills Athletic Conference released its all-league boys and girls soccer teams early this week as Lynchburg’s Connor Tyree and Eastern’s Caitlyn Wills topped the lists.

Lynchburg’s Connor Tyree is the SHAC Player of the Year. He scored 15 goals and passed out six assists this season.
CREDIT: Brock Netter/SOSA

Tyree and Wills were named the SHAC Players of the Year after leading their teams to successful seasons.

Tyree’s Mustangs finished the regular season at 11-3-1 and 6-0 in league play while he scored 15 goals and passed out six assists. They’re scheduled to play in a Division III district final this Thursday against Ironton St. Joe.

Meanwhile, Wills led the Warriors to an 11-5 finish and will lead them into a Division III district semifinal against Alexander. The senior scored eight goals and had four assists during her POY campaign.

In terms of Coach of the Year awards, Lynchburg’s Jason West, on the boys side, and Dennis West, on the girls, swept the board.

Joining Tyree with all-league honors are teammates Hunter Balon, Nathan Brown, Andrew Cumberland and Ian Waits.

Also earning all-league honors, in no certain order, were West Union’s Braxton Blanton, Eastern’s Ryan Boone, Hunter Rose and Andres Vargas, North Adams’ Andrew Brand, Carter Crawford, Jayden Hesler, Hunter Hoop and Seth Vogel, Fairfield’s Hunter Burns and Reese Teeters, Fayetteville’s Will Cornett and Jonas Jakeway, and Peebles’ Brett Ferguson and Hunter White.

Wills was joined by teammates Rylee Leonard, Mary Litzinger and Emma Prine on the all-league team.

Rounding out the all-league girls team were Ripley’s Ayziah Williams, Lynchburg’s Sierra Benney, Natasha Davidson, Raelynn Ruble, Karlie Tipton and Philemina Toca, North Adams’ Ainsley Grooms, Braylie Jones and Laney Ruckel, West Union’s Katie Hunter, Fayetteville’s Taylor Mechlin, Fairfield’s Ella Newkirk and Cadence Saunders, Peebles’ Arayha West.

Share this post