Kylee Barney
Picture of Derrick Webb

Derrick Webb

Derrick is SOSA's chief content coordinator and has worked for the Chillicothe Gazette, the Portsmouth Daily Times and Eleven Warriors. He's a 13-time award-winning journalist, a self-proclaimed baseball purist, a suffering Bengals fan and has never met a stranger.

Wheelersburg’s Barney, South Webster’s Maloney headline all-district volleyball honors

The District 14 Coaches Association released its all-district volleyball honors on Monday.

SOSA Staff Report

The District 14 Volleyball Coaches Association released their all-district honors early Monday morning and two middle hitters headlined the list.

South Webster’s Faith Maloney was named the Division IV District Player of the Year after leading the Jeeps with 257 kills.
CREDIT: Renee Nemeth/SOSA

Wheelersburg’s Kylee Barney and South Webster’s Faith Maloney received District Player of the Year honors in Divisions III and IV.

Barney has led the Pirates to a 21-1 mark while posting 251 kills and 73 blocks. Meanwhile, Maloney has paced the Jeeps to a 19-1 mark alongside 257 kills, 61 aces, 73 blocks and 133 digs.

The Pirates and Jeeps shared the SOC II title after beating each other once in the regular seaosn.

Here’s a look at the remainder of the area’s all-district honors in Divisions I, II, III and IV.


Miami Trace’s Olivia Fliehman, Unioto’s Kacey Pierce and Waverly’s Carli Knight all earned first-team honors.

Fliehman’s Panthers own just one loss on the season, Pierce totaled an area-high 536 kills for the 13-win Shermans and Knight set a new school digs record.

Earning second-team honors are Chillicothe’s Stephanie Hirsch, Miami Trace’s Chloe Scott, Unioto’s Ava Eldridge, Washington’s Brittney Wilson and Hillsboro’s Gracie Dean.

Honorable mention accolades were collected by Miami Trace’s Gracey Ferguson and Laura Robinson, Chillicothe’s Katie Conner, Washington’s Aaraylne Estep, Waverly’s Sarah Thompson and McClain’s Maddy Crawford.

Circleville’s Kenzie McConnell was named the Division I and II Player of the Year and Miami Trace’s Doug Mace is the Coach of the Year.


In Division III, Adena’s Jenna Martin, Westfall’s Marissa Mullins and Kristin Phillips, Northwest’s Haidyn Wamsley and Huntington’s Megan Steele all joined Barney with first-team honors.

Martin led the Warriors with 202 kills while Mullins and Phillips were the focal point of the Mustangs’ offensive attack. Wamsley powered down 280 kills for the Mohawks while Steele continued to show her versatility with 282 kills, 21 aces, 338 digs and 198 assists.

Adena’s Camryn Carroll, Southeastern’s Hannah Lougheed, Wheelersburg’s Lauren Jolly, Zane Trace’s Alli Bennett, North Adams’ DeLaney Harper and Minford’s Ally Coriell all earned second-team honors.

Huntington’s Megan Steele is a Division III first-team all-district selection.
CREDIT: Derrick Webb/SOSA

Earning third-team honors are Fairfield’s Layla Hattan, Adena’s Ellie Harper, Northwest’s Reagan Lewis, North Adams’ Sierra Kendall, Wheelersburg’s Emily Boggs and Huntington’s Allison Basye.

Honorable mention accolades were collected by Westfall’s Claire Latham, Portsmouth’s Madison Perry, Zane Trace’s Laynee Hill, Southeastern’s Lexie Lockwood, Wheelersburg’s Kaylee Darnell, Huntington’s Katie Hirsch, North Adams’ Wylie Shipley, Adena’s Ari DaRif, Zane Trace’s Lexi Scott, Northwest’s Ava Jenkins, West’s Eden Cline and Minford’s Livi Shonkwiler.

Adena’s Laura Smith was named the Division III Coach of the Year.


Following Maloney’s lead in Division IV was Notre Dame’s Claire Dettwiller and Ava Hassel, South Webster’s Bri Claxon, Eastern’s Skylar White and Peebles’ Jacey Justice.

Dettwiller and Hassel led the Titans to yet another SOC I title, Claxon was Maloney’s running partner with 121 kills, 35 aces, 20 blocks and 182 digs, White led the Eagles with 274 assists alongside 237 digs, and Justice led the Indians with 168 kills.

Paint Valley’s Olivia Smith, South Webster’s Graci Claxon, New Boston’s Shelby Easter, Eastern’s Andee Lester, Clay’s Shaley Munion and South Webster’s Gwen Messer all earned second-team honors.

Earning honorable mention honors are Green’s Kame Sweeney, Notre Dame’s Annie Dettwiller, Western’s Brooklyn Leedy, Paige Davis and Kenzie Ferneau, Paint Valley’s Kaitlin Potts and Averi McFadden, South Webster’s Isabella Claxon, East’s Grace Smith, Manchester’s Brooke Kennedy and Whiteoak’s Jeanette Cox.

The Division IV Coach of the Year is South Webster’s Darcee Claxon.

Share this post