Sydney Free
Picture of Derrick Webb

Derrick Webb

Derrick is SOSA's chief content coordinator and has worked for the Chillicothe Gazette, the Portsmouth Daily Times and Eleven Warriors. He's a 13-time award-winning journalist, a self-proclaimed baseball purist, a suffering Bengals fan and has never met a stranger.

Take a look at the all-SVC boys and girls soccer teams

The Scioto Valley Conference released both its boys and girls all-conference soccer teams on Friday.

SOSA Staff Report

CHILLICOTHE — The Scioto Valley Conference released its all-league boys and girls soccer teams on Friday morning while Unioto’s Ethan Kerns and Westfall’s Mahaley Farmer earned top individual honors.

Unioto’s Ethan Kerns was named the SVC Boys Soccer Player of the Year after leading the Shermans to a 12-4 mark this fall.
CREDIT: Renee Nemeth/SOSA

Kerns was the boys Player of the Year while Farmer was given the same honor on the girls side.

Earning Goalkeeper of the Year accolades were Piketon’s Jace Foster and Unioto’s Sydney Free. Foster helped the Redstreaks win the most single-season games in program history while Free continued to be a brick wall, limiting opponents to a single goal in league play.

Unioto boys coach Brandon Hanes and girls coach Jeremy Clark are the SVC Coaches of the Year.

On the boys side, earning first-team honors was Unioto’s Jayce Wingo, Lucas Hanes, Antonio Cruz and Asher McBee while Zane Trace’s Spencer Wycinski, Ethan Nelson and Jerry Ebert joined them. Piketon’s Noah Nichols, Southeastern’s Parker George and Westfall’s Brady Mullins were also first-team selections.

Honorable mention selections were as follows: Piketon’s Sage Rider, Unioto’s Ashton Sigler, Southeastern’s Jacob Lenox, Zane Trace’s Brayden Jarrell and Westfall’s Colton Spaniol.

As for the girls, Unioto’s Brandy Robinson, Abi Seals, Jaidyn McKell, Allie Cox and Avery Miller are first-team selections while Westfall’s Lyndsey Yates and Kylee Henry are first-teamers. Joining those names are Zane Trace’s Alexis Guffey, Southeastern’s Sierra Mitten and Piketon’s Olivia MacCrae.

Honorable mention selections are as follows: Unioto’s Emily Hanes, Southeastern’s Paige Mustard, Piketon’s Natalie Cooper, Westfall’s Cloe Gardner and Zane Trace’s Brianna Fetters.

Share this post