Cam Evans
Picture of Derrick Webb

Derrick Webb

Derrick is SOSA's chief content coordinator and has worked for the Chillicothe Gazette, the Portsmouth Daily Times and Eleven Warriors. He's a 13-time award-winning journalist, a self-proclaimed baseball purist, a suffering Bengals fan and has never met a stranger.

ZT’s Evans, Glenwood’s Sexton lead area Division III and IV All-Ohio selections

The OPSWA released its All-Ohio Division III and IV boys basketball teams on Monday afternoon.

SOSA Staff Report

COLUMBUS — The Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association released its Division III and IV All-Ohio boys basketball teams Monday afternoon and a handful of names within SOSA’s coverage area graced the list.

Zane Trace’s Cam Evans paced the area’s Division III honorees with a second-team all-state honor. Evans led the Pioneers to a second consecutive district championship and a share of the Scioto Valley Conference title.

Joining Evans with second-team All-Ohio honors is Oak Hill’s Chase Hammond, who led the Oaks to a 16-9 record this past winter.

Special mention honors in Division III were earned by Eastern Brown’s Titus Burns and Wheelersburg’s J.J. Truitt while Zane Trace’s Nick Nesser and Colby Swain, Adena’s Logan Bennett, North Adams’ Jayden Hesler, West Union’s Zane Kingsolver, Eastern Brown’s Colton Vaughn and Trent Hundley, and Minford’s Elijah Vogelsong all earned honorable mention accolades.

In Division IV, New Boston’s Kyle Sexton is a first-team all-state selection. Sexton averaged 19 points per game while his Tigers won their first outright SOC title since 1971.

Peebles’ Weston Browning is a second-team All-Ohio honoree and the only other area player to be placed on a team in Division IV.

Fairfield’s Bryson Simmons, Peebles’ Hunter Ruckel, Green’s Gage Sampson, New Boston’s Tanner Voiers, Ironton St. Joe’s Zach Roach and Symmes Valley’s Jack Leith are all special mention selections.

Earning honorable mention recognition is Ironton St. Joe’s Ryan Payne, Eastern’s Hunter Cochenour and Clay’s Shaden Malone.

For a full look at the OPSWA’s Division III and IV All-Ohio teams, click here.

Share this post