Picture of Derrick Webb

Derrick Webb

Derrick is SOSA's chief content coordinator and has worked for the Chillicothe Gazette, the Portsmouth Daily Times and Eleven Warriors. He's a 13-time award-winning journalist, a self-proclaimed baseball purist, a suffering Bengals fan and has never met a stranger.

Waverly’s Robertson, New Boston’s Sexton win SOC POY honors, all-conference teams released

The Southern Ohio Conference released its all conference boys hoops teams on Tuesday.

SOSA Staff Report

New Boston won the SOC I outright title for the first time since 1971, so it only made sense that the Tigers cleaned house with the SOC I all-conference awards. 

Kyle Sexton was tabbed as Player of the Year, Jerome McKinley was named Defensive Player of the Year and head coach Adam Cox received Coach of the Year honors. 

Waverly’s Trey Robertson is the SOC II Player of the Year.
CREDIT: Derrick Webb/SOSA

Joining Sexton on first team were fellow teammates Tanner Voiers and Malachi Potts, Ironton St. Joe’s Zach Roach and Ryan Payne, Symmes Valley’s Jack and Luke Leith, Green’s Gage Simpson, Western’s Mav Ferneau, Clay’s Shaden Malone, Notre Dame’s Jermaine Powelland East’s Austin Powell.

On the second team in the SOC I are New Boston’s McKinley and Chase Clark, Ironton St. Joe’s, J.C. Damron and Jimmy Mahlmeister, Green’s Ethan Huffman and Levi Sampson, Western’s Broc Jordan and Sheldon Richardson, Symmes Valley’s Drew Scherer, Clay’s Reece Whitley, Notre Dame’s Jarren Edgington and East’s Chase Coyle

On the SOC II side, Waverly’s Trey Robertson was named Player of the Year after guiding the Tigers to a 19-6 season and a Division II sectional title. 

Meanwhile, Wheelersburg’s Carter McCorkle, Oak Hill’s Noah Donley and Minford’s Elijah Vogelsong-Lewis all shared Defensive Player of the Year honors.

Wheelersburg coach Steven Ater was named Coach of the Year following another conference title for the Pirates. 

Joining Robertson on first team is teammate Will Futhey, Wheelersburg’s Matthew Miller and J.J. Truitt alongside McCorkle, Oak Hill’s Chase Hammond and Drew Hanning, South Webster’s Brayden Bockway, Valley’s Kayden Mollette, Wests’s Nick Davis, Eastern’s Hunter Cochenour, Northwest’s Billy Crabtree and Minford’s Vogelsong-Lewis.

Making up the second team list in the SOC II is Wheelersburg’s Eli Swords and Gage Adkins, Waverly’s Zeke Brown and Tanner Smallwood, Minford’s Trenton Zimmerman and Nathan McCormick, South Webster’s Trae Zimmermanand Gabe Ruth, Oak Hill’s Keaton Potter, Valley’s Mason Zaler, West’s Luke Howard, Eastern’s Chase Carter and Northwest’s Timmy Emmons.

Share this post