Kaylee Darnell
Picture of Derrick Webb

Derrick Webb

Derrick is SOSA's chief content coordinator and has worked for the Chillicothe Gazette, the Portsmouth Daily Times and Eleven Warriors. He's a 13-time award-winning journalist, a self-proclaimed baseball purist, a suffering Bengals fan and has never met a stranger.

Notre Dame’s Hassel, Wheelersburg’s Darnell win SOC POY awards, all-conference teams released

The SOC released its all-conference girls basketball teams on Tuesday.

SOSA Staff Report

Both Notre Dame’s Ava Hassel and Wheelersburg’s Kaylee Darnell earned two new pieces of hardware on Tuesday.

Notre Dame’s Ava Hassel is the SOC I Player of the Year.
CREDIT: Jenny Campbell/SOSA

Hassel was named the SOC I’s Player of the Year while Darnell garnered the same honors in the SOC II. Both the Titans and Pirates went undefeated in league play, winning yet another conference championship.

Meanwhile, Notre Dame’s Taylor Schmidt and Oak Hill’s Caitlyn Brisker also earned awards, winning Defensive Player of the Year awards in the SOC I and II, respectively.

Schmidt was Hassel’s partner in crime all year long while Brisker led the Oaks to a Division III district final appearance.

Coach of the Year awards were given to Notre Dame’s J.D. McKenzie and Wheelersburg’s Dusty Spradlin.

Joining Hassel and Schmidt on the SOC I’s first-team list is Notre Dame’s Claire Dettwiller, New Boston’s Sammy Oiler and Lexus Oiler, Green’s Kasey Kimbler and Kame Sweeney, Ironton St. Joe’s Bella Whaley, Clay’s Jaelyn Warnock, Symmes Valley’s Rachael Hayes, and East’s Grace Smith.

The SOC I’s second-team list is made up of Notre Dame’s Isabel Cassidy and Olivia Smith, New Boston’s Kenzie Whitley, Taylen Hickman and Shelby Easter, Green’s Anna Knapp, Ironton St. Joe’s Kaitlyn Sheridan and Faith Mahlmeister, Clay’s Shaley Munion and McKenzie Loper, Symmes Valley’s Taylor Sells and East’s Felicia Smith.

In the SOC II, both Ellie Kallner and Alaina Keeney represented Wheelersburg on the first-team list, alongside Darnell. Joining that trio is Northwest’s Haidyn Wamsley and Keirah Potts, Oak Hill’s Brisker and Olivia Clarkson, South Webster’s Bri Claxon, Minford’s Maddie Slusher, Waverly’s Zoiee Smith, West’s Morgan Rigsby, Valley’s Bre Call and Eastern’s Abby Cochenour.

Second-team honors were earned by Wheelersburg’s Lani Irwin and Lauren Jolly, Northwest’s Valerie Copas and Ava Jenkins, Oak Hill’s Chloe Chambers, South Webster’s Baylee Cox and Faith Maloney, Minford’s Hannah Tolle and Livi Shonkwiler, Waverly’s Paige Carter and Carli Knight, West’s Charlie Jo Howard, Valley’s Karsyn Conaway and Eastern’s Andee Lester.

Share this post