Trey Robertson
Picture of Derrick Webb

Derrick Webb

Derrick is SOSA's chief content coordinator and has worked for the Chillicothe Gazette, the Portsmouth Daily Times and Eleven Warriors. He's a 13-time award-winning journalist, a self-proclaimed baseball purist, a suffering Bengals fan and has never met a stranger.

Waverly’s Robertson, Chillicothe’s Noel, ZT’s Evans, Peebles’ Browning win District 14 POY honors

The District 14 Coaches Association releases its all-district boys basketball honors on Monday.

Derrick Webb, Staff Writer

Four area basketball players earned high honors Monday afternoon as Waverly’s Trey Robertson, Chillicothe’s Brandon Noel, Zane Trace’s Cam Evans and Peebles’ Weston Browning took home District 14 Player of the Year honors.

Chillicothe’s Brandon Noel is the District 14 Coaches Division I/II co-Player of the Year.
CREDIT: Chad Siders/SOSA

The awards, which were released by the District 14 Coaches Association, were broken into all four divisions. Robertson and Noel were the co-Players of the Year in Divisions I and II while Evans won the honor in Division III and Browning earned it in Division IV.

Robertson led the Tigers to a sectional title and an overall record of 19-6. Noel has paced the Cavaliers to a Division I sectional title and will lead the way into a district semifinal this Wednesday against Pickerington North.

Evans, the SVC Player of the Year, leads the Pioneers in scoring and has them set to play in a district final this Friday against Ironton while Browning has led his Indians to a sectional crown as well.

Here’s a look at the rest of the District 14 all-district boys hoops selections.


Joining Noel with first-team honors are teammates Jayvon Maughmer and Tre Beard, who have both played key roles in the Cavs’ 19-win season.

McClain’s Bryson Badgley, Unioto’s Isaac Little and Robertson round out the rest of the first-team honorees.

Earning second-team honors are Unioto’s Josh Lambert, Waverly’s Tanner Smallwood, Hillsboro’s Ryan Scott and Waverly’s Will Futhey while Chillicothe’s Vincent Roper, Hillsboro’s Caleb Crawford, McClain’s Lyle White, Miami Trace’s Kyler Conn, Unioto’s Cameron DeBord, Washington’s Tanner LeMaster and Waverly’s Zeke Brown are all honorable mention selections.

The Division I/II co-Coaches of the Year are Chillicothe’s Eric Huffer and Unioto’s Matt Hoops.


In Division III, Evans’ teammate Nick Nesser joins him on the first-team list while Adena’s Logan Bennett and Wheelersburg’s J.J. Truitt are also included.

Eastern Brown’s pair of Colton Vaughn and Titus Burns, West Union’s Zane Kingsolver, Minford’s Trenton Zimmerman and Piketon’s Chris Chandler are all second-team recipients while Western’s Maverick Ferneau, North Adams’ Austin McCormick and Jayden Hesler, Westfall’s Jay Wyman, Wheelersburg’s Matthew Miller and Zane Trace’s Colby Swain make up the entire third-team all-district list.

As for honorable mention selections, the list includes Adena’s Preston Sykes, Eastern Brown’s Ryan Boone, Lynchburg-Clay’s Raymond Conner, Minford’s Elijah Vogelsong, North Adams’ Cade Meade, Northwest’s Billy Crabtree, Piketon’s Tyree Harris, West’s Nick Davis, Southeastern’s Derek Wheeler, Western’s Broc Jordan, West Union’s Cameron Campbell, Westfall’s Lucas Blackburn, Wheelersburg’s Carter McCorkle and Zane Trace’s Triton Davidson.

Zane Trace’s Gary Kellough joined Evans as well with special honors, earning Coach of the Year.


Joining Browning on the first-team list is teammate Hunter Ruckel while New Boston’s Kyle Sexton, Green’s Gage Sampson and Fairfield’s Bryson Simmons are also first-team selections.

Second-team honors were awarded to South Webster’s Brayden Bockway, New Boston’s Tanner Voiers, Huntington’s Seth Beeler, Manchester’s Isaiah Scott, and Valley’s Kayden Mollette while Paint Valley’s Cordell Grubb and Bryce Newland, Clay’s Shaden Malone, Fairfield’s James Bentley and Notre Dame’s Jermaine Powell are the third-team honorees.

Honorable mention selections are as follows: Clay’s Reece Whitley, Fairfield’s Wyatt Willey, Green’s Ethan Huffman, Huntington’s Caleb Smith, Manchester’s Declan Huron, New Boston’s Malachi Potts, Notre Dame’s Jared Edgington, Paint Valley’s Cruz McFadden, Peebles’ Alex Camp, East’s Austin Smith, South Webster’s Gabe Ruth, Valley’s Mason Zaler and Whiteoak’s Landon Barnett.

Peebles coach Josh Arey is the Division IV Coach of the Year.

Share this post