Allison Basye
Picture of Derrick Webb

Derrick Webb

Derrick is SOSA's chief content coordinator and has worked for the Chillicothe Gazette, the Portsmouth Daily Times and Eleven Warriors. He's a 13-time award-winning journalist, a self-proclaimed baseball purist, a suffering Bengals fan and has never met a stranger.

MT’s McDonald, EB’s Pickerill, Huntington’s Basye, Peebles’ Justice named District POYs

The District 14 Coaches Association released its all-district girls team on Tuesday.

Derrick Webb, Staff Writer

All year long, Miami Trace’s Shaylee McDonald, Eastern Brown’s Cam Pickerill, Huntington’s Allison Basye and Peebles’ Jacey Justice have played at high levels.

Eastern Brown’s Cam Pickerill is District 14’s co-Player of the Year in Division III.
CREDIT: Jenny Campbell/SOSA

Tuesday, they received honors for their performance over the course of the season … the first of many sure awards to come.

McDonald was named the District 14 Player of the Year in Division II while Pickerill and Basye shared the award in Division III and Justice won the award in Division IV.

McDonald enjoyed a season where she scored her 1,000th career point and led the FAC co-champion Panthers to a sectional crown while Basye led Huntington in scoring, nearly averaging a double-double.

For Pickerill and Justice, their teams are still playing. Pickerill, the Warriors’ floor general, has led the team to a district final while Justice, who became the Indians’ all-time leading scorer earlier this year, has her squad at the same level.

Eastern Brown will play Oak Hill at noon, Saturday at Waverly’s Downtown Gym while Justice and Peebles take on Trimble at 1:45, Saturday at Jackson.

Here’s a look at the rest of the District 14 all-district selections.


Joining McDonald on the Division II first-team list was Unioto’s Emily Coleman and Washington’s Shawna Conger. Coleman led the Shermans to a conference title while Conger led her Blue Lions to a sectional crown.

Collecting second-team honors is Waverly’s Zoiee Smith, McClain’s Kyla Burchett and Unioto’s Amber Cottrill while Chillicothe’s Julia Hall, Hillsboro’s Josie Hopkins, McClain’s Payton Pryor, Miami Trace’s Aubrey McCoy, Unioto’s Cree Stulley, Washington’s Halli Wall and Waverly’s Carli Knight all received honorable mention nods.

Circleville’s Kenzie McConnell shared the Player of the Year honors with McDonald while the Tigers’ Steve Kalinoski is the Coach of the Year.


Pickerill and Basye were joined by Wheelersburg’s Kaylee Darnell and North Adams’ Delaney Harper with first-team honors in Division III.

Darnell led the Pirates to an SOC II title while Harper was the central piece to a co-SHAC champion Green Devils team that will play for a district title this coming Saturday.

Receiving second-team honors are Southeastern’s Macie Graves, Westfall’s Marcy Dudgeon, Minford’s Maddie Slusher and Valley’s Bre Call.

Wheelersburg’s Kaylee Darnell earned first-team all-district honors.
CREDIT: Jenny Campbell/SOSA

Wheelersburg’s Alaina Keeney, Lynchburg-Clay’s Zoe Fittro, Fairfield’s Emma Fouch, Eastern Brown’s Rylee Leonard and Southeastern’s Skylar Hice were third-team honorees.

Honorable mention accolades were awarded to Adena’s Hannah Stark, Eastern Brown’s Mackenzie Gloff, Fairfield’s Madison Bronner, Huntington’s Emily Haubeil, Lycnhburg-Clay’s Logan Binkley, Minford’s Hannah Tolle, North Adams’ Braylie Jones, Northwest’s Haidyn Wamsley, Piketon’s Bailey Vulgamore, Southeastern’s Cidney Huff, Valley’s Karsyn Conaway, West Union’s Alexa Rowe, Westfall’s Gabby Patete and Wheelersburg’s Ellie Kallner.

The Division III Coach of the Year is Wheelersburg’s Dusty Spradlin.


Justice was joined by Notre Dame’s Ava Hassel, South Webster’s Bri Claxon, Green’s Kasey Kimbler and Manchester’s Brooke Kennedy with first-team honors.

Peebles’ Jacey Justice was named District 14’s Division IV Player of the Year.
CREDIT: Jenny Campbell/SOSA

Hassel has her Titans playing for a district crown this Saturday, Claxon led the Jeeps in scoring all year long, Kimbler helped the Bobcats win their first sectional title since 2009 and Kennedy aided the Greyhounds to a sectional title as well.

Earning second-team recognition is New Boston’s Lexus Oiler, Eastern’s Abby Cochenour, Peebles‘ Lilly Gray, Notre Dame’s Taylor Schmidt and Clay’s Jaelyn Warnock.

Third-team honors were awarded to Paint Valley’s Olivia Smith, Peebles’ Tatum Arey, New Boston’s Sammy Oiler, and South Webster’s pair of Faith Maloney and Baylee Cox.

Honorable mention selections are Clay’s Shaley Munion, Eastern’s Andee Lester, Green’s Kame Sweeney, Manchester’s Hannah Hobbs, New Boston’s Kenzie Whitley, Notre Dame’s Lauren Campbell, Paint Valley’s Abbi Stanforth, Peebles‘ Harley Wilkenson, East’s Grace Smith, South Webster’s Kenzie Hornikel and Whiteoak’s Cylee Branton.

The Division IV co-Coaches of the Year are Peebles’ Billie Jo Justice and Notre Dame’s J.D. McKenzie.

Share this post