Allison Basye
Picture of Derrick Webb

Derrick Webb

Derrick is SOSA's chief content coordinator and has worked for the Chillicothe Gazette, the Portsmouth Daily Times and Eleven Warriors. He's a 13-time award-winning journalist, a self-proclaimed baseball purist, a suffering Bengals fan and has never met a stranger.

Huntington’s Allison Basye named SVC’s POY, all-league teams released

The Scioto Valley Conference announced its all-league girls basketball teams Wednesday morning.

Derrick Webb, Staff Writer

CHILLICOTHE — It’s still early in her career, but Huntington’s Allison Basye is starting to blossom into the player she was prophesied to be.

Basye, a 5-foot-10 guard, has led the Huntsmen, and the Scioto Valley Conference, in scoring all year long with a per game average of 23 points. That goes alongside 10 rebounds per game.

In a word, Basye is just different.

Unioto coach Jeff Miller is the SVC Coach of the Year for the third time in his career and the second straight season.
CREDIT: Jenny Campbell/SOSA

She’s also the 2019-20 SVC Player of the Year, an honor that was announced early Wednesday morning.

Basye is the second consecutive Huntington player to win the award, following in the footsteps of former teammate Braiden Collins, and the sixth overall from the program.

Also earning hardware is Unioto coach Jeff Miller, who is the Coach of the Year. It’s the third such honor for Miller and the second consecutive.

Joining Basye with first-team all-conference honors are Unioto’s Emily Coleman and Amber Cottrill, and Southeastern’s pair of Skylar Hice and Macie Graves.

Coleman and Cottrill, who made up the Shermans’ backcourt, led the team to a third consecutive league title, and a second straight outright crown.

As for Hice and Graves, the duo has led the Panthers to an 18-4 mark after the team finished 7-16 one season ago.

Westfall senior Marcy Dudgeon, Adena senior Hannah Stark, Unioto senior Cree Stulley, Adena sophomore Jadyn Smith and Paint Valley sophomore Olivia Smith make up the five second-team all-SVC selections.

Earning third-team all-league honors were Westfall’s Gabby Patete, Piketon’s Bailey Vulgamore, Southeastern’s Cidney Huff, Unioto’s Avery Miller and Paint Valley’s Hanna Uhrig.

Paint Valley’s Hanna Uhrig is a third-team all-conference selection after leading PV in scoring.
CREDIT: Jenny Campbell/SOSA

Honorable mention selections were as follows: Adena’s Abby French and Chey Ater, Huntington’s Emily Haubeil and Megan Steele, Paint Valley’s Abbi Stanforth and Averi McFadden, Piketon’s Haleigh Risner and Jazz Lamerson, Southeastern’s Sierra Mitten and Alexis Bailes, Unioto’s Hallie Pinkerton and Alexis Miller, Westfall’s Mahaley Farmer and Marissa Mullins, and Zane Trace’s Emily Allen and Lauren Lane.

Share this post