Jayden Spires
Picture of Derrick Webb

Derrick Webb

Derrick is SOSA's chief content coordinator and has worked for the Chillicothe Gazette, the Portsmouth Daily Times and Eleven Warriors. He's a 13-time award-winning journalist, a self-proclaimed baseball purist, a suffering Bengals fan and has never met a stranger.

Three Ironmen headline area Division III All-Ohio selections

The OHSAA announced its Division II and III All-Ohio football teams Tuesday afternoon.

SOSA Staff Report

COLUMBUS — After a season in which he won conference and district Player of the Year awards, Jackon’s Jayden Spires can officially tuck away his final, and most prestigious, award this season.

The Ironmen’ do-it-all running back was named first-team All-Ohio when the OHSAA released its Division II and III all-state teams Tuesday afternoon.

Spires was a central reason why Jackson finished the season at 11-1 overall after winning the Frontier Athletic Conference title with a 7-0 mark in league play.

Joining Spires with All-Ohio honors in Division III were teammates Anthony Parks, a 6-foot-3 senior defensive linemen, and Brice Parks, 5-foot-10 senior defensive back.

That pair helped the Ironmen’ defense allow just 14.6 points per game and hold their opponent to less than 10 points on six different ocassions.

The team’s quarterback, Jared Icenhower, received third-team all-state honors while Treylan Davis was a third-team selection.

Area players that earned Special Mention All-Ohio honors in Division III were Miami Trace’s Dalton Mayer, Luke Henry and Jayden LeBeau, Unioto’s Jamarcus Carroll and Dalton Ford, and Jackson’s Ty Ruckel and Grant Mastin.

For a full list of the Division III All-Ohio selections, click here.

Share this post