Makya Matthews
Picture of Derrick Webb

Derrick Webb

Derrick is SOSA's chief content coordinator and has worked for the Chillicothe Gazette, the Portsmouth Daily Times and Eleven Warriors. He's a 13-time award-winning journalist, a self-proclaimed baseball purist, a suffering Bengals fan and has never met a stranger.

Wheelersburg’s Makya Matthews headlines area Division V All-Ohio selections

Wheelersburg's Makya Matthews is a first-team All-Ohio selection, headling the area's Division V honorees.

SOSA Staff Report

COLUMBUS — The success that Makya Matthews has had in the last four years as a Wheelersburg Pirate has been well-documented.

The electrifying running back has provided memorable moments etched in school history while pacing the Pirates’ offense on each fall night.

Monday, Matthews received his final honor for his performances during his senior year as the OHSAA released its Division V All-Ohio teams, where Matthews was listed as a first-team honoree.

Over his career at Wheelersburg, Matthews rushed for 1,436 yards and 21 touchdowns while totaling 1,791 receiving yards and 15 scores. On the defensive side of the football, he had 147 tackles and 10 interceptions.

Joining Matthews with all-state honors was teammate Gavin Welch, an offensive lineman that was a second-team honoree. Wheelersburg’s Evan Horsley and Braxton Sammons also made the list, both earning third-team honors.

Minford’s pair of Matthew Risner and Elijah Vogelsong appeared on the list as well after leading the Falcons to a playoff berth. Risner was a second-team selection while Vogelsong earned third-team honors.

Area players that earned Special Mention All-Ohio honors in Division V were Piketon’s Levi Gullion and Austen Henderson, Oak Hill’s Triston Diltz, Keaton Potter and Flint Barger, Northwest’s Brayden Campbell, Evan Lintz and Caleb Crabtree, Minford’s Ty Wiget, Levin Warren and Drew Skaggs, Wheelersburg’s Hunter Ruby and Brady Warner, West’s Luke Bradford and Westfall’s Josey Kelly and Keaton Potter.

For a full list of the Division V All-Ohio selections, click here.

Share this post