Cruz McFadden
Picture of Derrick Webb

Derrick Webb

Derrick is SOSA's chief content coordinator and has worked for the Chillicothe Gazette, the Portsmouth Daily Times and Eleven Warriors. He's a 13-time award-winning journalist, a self-proclaimed baseball purist, a suffering Bengals fan and has never met a stranger.

Scioto Valley Conference well represented on Division VI All-Ohio team

The Scioto Valley Conference had a total of 17 players earn All-Ohio football honors Sunday afternoon.

SOSA Staff Report

COLUMBUS — The Scioto Valley Conference had several players earn recognition for their contributions on the gridiron this past fall … and at the highest level possible.

The Ohio High School Athletic Association released its Division VI and VII All-Ohio teams Sunday afternoon. In total, seven players from the SVC were named to the first, second or third teams in Division VI.

Southeastern’s Mikey Nusser earned third-team All-Ohio honors after helping SE go 11-1.
CREDIT: Derrick Webb/SOSA

Leading the group was Southeastern’s Lane Ruby, who was named the Divison’s Offensive Player of the Year alongside three other players. Ruby was joined on the list by teammates Alan Mead, a senior lineman, and Mikey Nusser, a junior linebacker and running back.

Mead earned a first-team offense honor while Nusser was named third-team all-state on defense.

Paint Valley had two players earn all-state recognition as wide receiver Cruz McFadden was a second-team offense selection and Brayden Ison was a third-team offense honoree.

McFadden and Ison were imperative to the Bearcats’ second straight playoff berth while the program finished 8-3 overall.

Adena also had two players earn all-state honors. Preston Sykes garnered second-team recognition as a defensive back while Eric Hurtt was a third-team selection on offense.

Sykes, who was also the Warriors’ quarterback, led Adena to a second straight playoff berth and an 8-3 mark while Hurtt paved the way for him to do so.

Adena’s Preston Sykes is a second-team All-Ohio honoree after leading his team to a second straight playoff berth.
CREDIT: Jenny Campbell/SOSA

Area players that earned Special Mention All-Ohio honors in Division VI included Adena’s Nate Throckmorton, Garrett Clark and Logan Bennett, Valley’s Ty Perkins, Mason Zaler and Chase Morrow, Southeastern’s Tanner Chenault, Dalton Thurston and Nathan Howard and Paint Valley’s Brock Hill, Lane Mettler and Iann Cockrell.

In Division VII, Symmes Valley’s Rusty Webb was named the state’s Coach of the Year after his Vikings finished 9-2 with an SOC I title in hand.

The Vikings’ Josh Ferguson was a second-team selection as a running back while teammate Jack Leith was a third-team defensive selection.

Area players that earned Special Mention All-Ohio honors in Division VII included Green’s Ethan Huffman and Seth Imes, Symmes Valley’s Gavan Yates and Caleb Mullins, Eastern’s Logan Clemmons and East’s Braidan Haney.

The Division IV and V All-Ohio teams will be announced Monday and will be followed by the Division II and III teams on Tuesday. The Division I All-Ohio team and the Ohio Mr. Football Award will be announced Wednesday.

For a full list of the Division VI and VII All-Ohio selections, click here.

Share this post