Jayden Spires
Picture of Derrick Webb

Derrick Webb

Derrick is SOSA's chief content coordinator and has worked for the Chillicothe Gazette, the Portsmouth Daily Times and Eleven Warriors. He's a 13-time award-winning journalist, a self-proclaimed baseball purist, a suffering Bengals fan and has never met a stranger.

Jackson’s Jayden Spires headlines All-FAC football team

The Frontier Athletic Conference released its all-league football teams Saturday morning.

SOSA Staff Report

After rushing for 1,175 yards and 18 touchdowns on just 156 carries, Jackson’s Jayden Spires has earned some impressive hardware.

Chillicothe’s Kam Smith is a first-team all-FAC selection.
CREDIT: Derrick Webb/SOSA

The Ironmen’ running back has been named the Frontier Athletic Conference’s Player of the Year after helping his team finish 10-0 overall and 5-0 in the FAC.

Joining Spires on the all-league list are teammates Anthony Parks, Brice Parks, Treylan Davis, Grant Mastin, Ty Ruckel and Jared Icenhower. That group helped their team beat Centennial in a first round playoff game Friday night by a 70-28 final … the most points any Jackson team has ever scored in a single game.

Washington, which finished 7-3 this season, had five players named all-league in Eli Lynch, Collier Brown, Chase Sluder, Jameson McCane and Jerome Mack. The league’s third place team, Chillicothe, has four all-FAC selections in Patrick Rourke, Ray Byers, Drew Seymour and Kam Smith.

Miami Trace’s Jayden Lebeau, Dalton Mayer, Luke Henry and Josh Gilmore were also included on the list, Hillsboro’s Draven Stodgell, Zach Burns, Mark Gallimore and Justin Spears were named to the all-league team and McClain’s Gabe Martinez was the only Tiger to make an appearance.

Share this post