Cruz McFadden
Picture of Derrick Webb

Derrick Webb

Derrick is SOSA's chief content coordinator and has worked for the Chillicothe Gazette, the Portsmouth Daily Times and Eleven Warriors. He's a 13-time award-winning journalist, a self-proclaimed baseball purist, a suffering Bengals fan and has never met a stranger.

SE’s Ruby, Adena’s Sykes, PV’s McFadden lead all-SVC football selections

The Scioto Valley Conference released its all-conference football selections Wednesday morning.

SOSA Staff Report

CHILLICOTHE — The Scioto Valley Conference released its all-league football teams Wednesday morning and three familiar names lead the list.

Southeastern’s Lane Ruby, Adena’s Preston Sykes and Paint Valley’s Cruz McFadden were named the Offensive Back, Defensive Back and Special Teams Players of the Year, respectively.

Southeastern’s Lane Ruby earned the Scioto Valley Conference’s Offensive Back of the Year award after rushing for 1,976 yards and 32 touchdowns this fall.
CREDIT: Jenny Campbell/SOSA

Ruby led the Panthers to a perfect 10-0 mark and the team’s second Gold Ball in the last three years while rushing for 1,976 yards and 32 touchdowns alongside 595 passing yards and four scores. The honor is the senior’s second consecutive Back of the Year award.

Sykes was 46-of-79 passing during the regular season for 1,010 yards. He rushed for 515 yards on 84 carries and scored a total of 18 touchdowns. His Warriors finished third in the league with an 8-2 overall mark.

McFadden did a little bit of everything for the 8-2 Bearcats. He was responsible for 521 receiving yards on 28 catches, he had four interceptions as a defensive back and he made an impact in every phase of the game.

Other awards were earned by Southeastern’s Alan Mead, Adena’s Eric Hurtt, Paint Valley’s Cordell Grubb, Piketon’s Jorge Lledias del Rio and Zane Trace’s Christian Fetters.

Mead is the conference’s Offensive Lineman of the Year, Hurtt is the Defensive Lineman of the Year, Grubb is the Punter of the Year, and Lledias del Rio and Fetters are the co-Kickers of the Year.

Also earning first-team recognition was Southeastern’s Mikey Nusser, Tanner Chenault, Nathan Howard and Dalton Thurston, as well as Paint Valley’s Iann Cockrell, Brayden Ison, Dane Miller and Lane Mettler.

Adena’s Nate Throckmorton, Unioto’s Timothy Diamond, Jamarcus Carroll and Isaac Little and Piketon’s Austin Henderson and Sammy Savage all earned all-league honors while Westfall’s Chanston Moll and Josey Kelley, Zane Trace’s Cougar Stauffer and Huntington’s Seth Beeler joined them.

Adena’s Dalton Metzger, an honorable mention selection, helped the Warriors finish 8-2.
CREDIT: Jenny Campbell/SOSA

Honorable mention honors were earned by the following players: Southeastern’s Jarren Ford, Aarick Hill, Jarred Sulpher and Jarrett McWhorter, Paint Valley’s John Alley, Nick Mills, Andrew Walker and Tramel Byrd, Adena’s Dalton Metzger, Max Willis, Will Rhinesmith and Logan Bennett, Unioto’s Logan Stanton, Carter Wisecup, Byrd Green and Chris Scaggs, Piketon’s Levi Gullion, John Burton, Steve Salyer and Easton Lansing, Westfall’s Hayden Lemaster, Lucas Blackburn, Marcus Whaley and Josey Truman, Zane Trace’s Gabe Shanton, Lane Larson, Caden Fry and Collin Climer, and Huntington’s Dalton Haubeil, Seth McCloskey, Gage Leggett and Jasten Kolle.

Share this post