Aaron Jolly
Picture of Derrick Webb

Derrick Webb

Derrick is SOSA's chief content coordinator and has worked for the Chillicothe Gazette, the Portsmouth Daily Times and Eleven Warriors. He's a 13-time award-winning journalist, a self-proclaimed baseball purist, a suffering Bengals fan and has never met a stranger.

Chillicothe’s Michael Herlihy, Wheelersburg’s Aaron Jolly headline all-Southeast district selections

Take a look at the all-district boys soccer selections in SOSA's coverage area.

SOSA Staff Report

All year long, Chillicothe’s Michael Herlihy and Wheelersburg’s Aaron Jolly led their teams into battle. Both have now earned an award that shows just how much they mean to their respective teams.

Chillicothe’s Michael Herlihy has been named the Division I Southeast District Player of the Year.
CREDIT: Derrick Webb/SOSA

Herlihy and Jolly were named the Southeast District Players of the Year in Division I and III, respectively.

As the Cavaliers finished 11-4-2 overall, Herlihy also helped the team win a Frontier Athletic Conference title with a 9-0-1 record. As for Jolly, the talented junior striker led his Pirates to a 17-2 finish, a 9-1 record inside the SOC II, good enough for a league title, and a district final appearance.

Here’s a look at the rest of the Division I, II and III district honorees.


Joining Herlihy with first-team all-district honors in Division I was his teammate and captain Tito Garcia, the Cavaliers’ top defender.

Chillicothe’s Brady Wood was a second-team honoree while teammates Isaac Crawford and Michael Lapurga were honorable mention recipients.

Cavaliers head coach Michael McCorkle earned Coach of the Year honors.


Leading the area’s Division II all-district honorees is McClain’s Braden Bergstrom, who led the Tigers in goals this season. He’s joined on the first-team list by teammate Griffin Foltz.

Also earning first-team honors are Jackson’s Ty Broermann and Collin Ghearing, Miami Trace’s Kyler Conn and Caleb Perry, Hillsboro’s Brock Haines and Titus Heiser, West’s Caleb Hazelbaker, Unioto’s Ethan Kerns and Vijay Wangui, and Waverly’s Drake Teeters.

Unioto’s Vijay Wangui is a first-team all-district honoree after leading the Shermans in goals.
CREDIT: Jenny Campbell/SOSA

Second-team honors in Division II are owned by Miami Trace’s pair of Michael Azagra and Kody Burns, Jackson’s Joe Crabtree and Isaac Kuhn, McClain’s Haydon Hice and Noah Reeves, Unioto’s Carson DeBord and Gage Stout, Waverly’s Britton Kritzwiser, West’s Jared Opperman, and Hillsboro’s Ethan Snapp and Landon Weber.

Honorable mention honorees in Division II include Miami Trace’s Christian Caldwell and Justin Shoemaker, Unioto’s Micah Geise and Ashton Sigler, Jackson’s Nolan Haislop and Austin Van Allen, Hillsboro’s Jason Lovely and Logan Weber, McClain’s Richie Lester and Lyle White, West’s Ethan Marasek and Austin Throckmorton, and Waverly’s Frantisek Podlaha and Alex Workman.

The Division II Player of the Year award was given to Marietta’s Jake Craven while the Coach and Assistant of the Year are Marietta’s Todd Morris and Colten Holdren.


Joining Jolly with first-team all-district honors in Division III is teammate Brady Warren. Those two are joined by Minford’s Adam Cordle and Evan Wheeler, Northwest’s Dylan Dehart, Clay’s Dakota Dodds and Bryce Toomire, New Boston’s Blake Grant and Malachi Potts, Southeastern’s Jacob Lenox, South Webster’s Braden Martin and Gabe Ruth, Piketon’s Noah Nichols, Ironton St. Joseph’s Ryan Payne and Jackson Rowe, Valley’s Cameron Phillips, and Zane Trace’s Andrew Ramsey.

Second-team honors have been earned by Minford’s Cayden Banks and Skyler Knore, South Webster’s Gavin Bennett and Brice Robnett, Northwest’s Jeremiah Bruch, Southeastern’s Parker George, Wheelersburg’s Eric Green and Jacob Saxby, Valley’s Wesley Holbrook and Austin Sommers, Zane Trace’s Kaden Howard and Spencer Wycinski, Ironton St. Joseph’s Zach Roach and Jimmy Mahlmeister, New Boston’s Kyle Sexton, Piketon’s Brandt Thompson, and Clay’s Reece Whitley.

Honorable mention honorees include Ironton St. Joseph’s Bryce Balestra and Jared Johnson, Northwest’s Kyle Butler and Brycen Carver, Piketon’s Tristen Carrico, Southeastern’s Ben Corcoran and Aramis Gibson, Clay’s Clay Cottle, Minford’s Adam Crank, Wheelersburg’s Will Darling and Logan Davis, Zane Trace’s Jerry Ebert, and Valley’s A.J. Johnson.

The Division III Southeast District Coach of the Year is Wheelersburg’s Jon Estep while the Assistant Coach of the Year is Lynchburg-Clay’s Brian Tatman.

Share this post