Addie Erslan
Picture of Derrick Webb

Derrick Webb

Derrick is SOSA's chief content coordinator and has worked for the Chillicothe Gazette, the Portsmouth Daily Times and Eleven Warriors. He's a 13-time award-winning journalist, a self-proclaimed baseball purist, a suffering Bengals fan and has never met a stranger.

Chillicothe’s Addie Erslan headlines area all-district selections with POY honor

Take a look at the all-district girls soccer selections in SOSA's coverage area.

SOSA Staff Report

Last week, Chillicothe junior forward Addie Erslan was honored as the Frontier Athletic Conference’s Player of the Year. This week, she’s officially been named as the Division II Southeast District Player of the Year.

Erslan led the Cavaliers to a 15-3-2 overall record this season, a perfect 10-0 mark in FAC action and a district final appearance, where the team’s tournament trail ended with a 3-0 loss to Fairfield Union.

During Chillicothe’s four-game tournament run, Erslan turned in three consecutive hat tricks, including one in a 5-1 win over Warren in a district semifinal.

Here’s a look at the rest of the Division II and III district honorees.


Joining Erslan with first-team all-district honors in Division II are Wheelersburg’s Morgan Bivens and Chelsee Steele, Chillicothe’s Caroline Ford, Unioto’s Sydney Free and Abi Seals, Washington’s Arianna Heath, Waverly’s Loren Moran, McClain’s Kerigan Pollard, Miami Trace’s Aubrey Schwartz, Hillsboro’s Lexi Sheppard and Jackson’s pair of Taylor Thorpe and Brynlee Vermillion.

Unioto’s Abi Seals, the SVC’s Player of the Year, is a first-team all-district selection.
CREDIT: Derrick Webb/SOSA

Earning second-team all-district honors in Division II are Hillsboro’s Sami Blair, Miami Trace’s Margarah Bloom, Washington’s Addison Chambers, Chillicothe’s Zoe Ford and Gemma Maimone, Wheelersburg’s Lani Irwin, Jackson’s Sarah Lefever and Emma Wiley, Unioto’s XiXi McKell and Jaidyn McKell, Waverly’s Michaela Rhoads and Amelia Willis, and McClain’s Beckley Smith.

Honorable mention selections in Division II include Hillsboro’s Zinny Adams and Brynlee Bledsoe, McClain’s Kayla Anderson and Payton Pryor, Jackson’s Emma Bapst and Marley Stroth, Unioto’s Kylee Bethel and Sophia Garza, Miami Trace’s Morgan Eggleton and Emily Powell, Wheelersburg’s Jordan Jennings and Brittani Wolfenbarker, Waverly’s Anna Jordan and Alexis Murphy, Chillicothe’s Jenna Lapurga and Paige Persinger, and Washington’s Chloe Lovett and Jordan McCane.

The Division II Coach of the Year honor was given to McClain’s Tyler Carman while the Division II Assistant Coach of the Year was awarded to Chillicothe’s Andrew Lightle.


Another local name led the Division III first-team honors in Zane Trace senior Haynna Addy. She was joined by teammate and Pioneers goalkeeper Lily Clark.

Also earning first-team all-district honors are Piketon’s Natalie Cooper, Northwest’s Ellie Curtis and Eva Reyes, Minford’s Haley Knore and Hannah Tolle, Southeastern’s Sierra Mitten, Ironton St. Joseph Central’s Laiken Unger and Emma Whaley, and West’s Bailee Wireman.

Zane Trace defender Alexis Guffey earned second-team all-district honors this fall.
CREDIT: Jenny Campbell/SOSA

Second-team honors were awarded to Minford’s Sarah Bender and Ali Brumfield, Zane Trace’s Alexis Guffey and Gabie Hamm, Northwest’s Kaley Hamilton, Southeastern’s Eva Kingery, Piketon’s Olivia MacCrae, West’s Zoe-Hanna Rawlins, and Ironton St. Joseph Central’s pair of Chloe Sheridan and Bella Whaley.

Honorable mention selections in Division III include Northwest’s Jaclyn Burchett and Madison Montavon, Minford’s Alyssa Coriell and Makayla Watters, Piketon’s Chloe D’Amico and Bronwyn Spencer, Southeastern’s Summer Haubeil and Paige Mustard, Ironton St. Joseph Central’s Faith Mahlmeister and Kaitlyn Nelson, West’s Layla McCleese and Emma Nelson, and Zane Trace’s Storey McClelland and Erin Nelson.

Lynchburg-Clay’s Kaylee Lunsford was named the Division III Southeast District Player of the Year.

The Division III Coach of the Year honor was given to North Adams’ Morgan Hendrickson while the Division III Assistant Coach of the Year was awarded to West Union’s Nick Biggs.

Share this post