Loren Moran
Picture of Derrick Webb

Derrick Webb

Derrick is SOSA's chief content coordinator and has worked for the Chillicothe Gazette, the Portsmouth Daily Times and Eleven Warriors. He's a 13-time award-winning journalist, a self-proclaimed baseball purist, a suffering Bengals fan and has never met a stranger.

Moran, Jolly, Toomire take home SOC Player of the Year honors, all-league teams released

The Southern Ohio Conference released its all-league soccer teams Friday morning.

SOSA Staff Report

Waverly’s Loren Moran, Wheelersburg’s Aaron Jolly and Clay’s Bryce Toomire were all honored individually as the Southern Ohio Conference released its all-league teams Friday morning.

Wheelersburg’s Aaron Jolly was named the SOC II’s Player of the Year after leading the Pirates to a 17-2 overall mark.
CREDIT: Renee Nemeth/SOSA

Moran, Jolly and Toomire were all named their conference’s respective Player of the Year — Moran and Jolly in the SOC II and Toomire in the SOC I.

While leading Waverly to its first-ever conference title, a shared crown with Wheelersburg, Moran scored 25 goals and passed out 15 assists. Meanwhile, Jolly led the Pirates to an overall mark of 17-2, a 9-1 record in conference play and to a Division III district final appearance.

Likewise, Toomire led Clay to an SOC I title — which was later stripped due to the use of an ineligible player — and was electric all season long.

Earning Defender of the Year honors were Wheelersburg’s pair of Morgan Bivens and Brady Warren, as well as Clay’s Dakota Dodds. On the girls side, West’s Tom Hoggard was named the Coach of the Year while Jon Estep and Ironton St. Joseph’s Mike Balestra received the honors on the boys side.

Here’s a complete breakdown of the SOC’s all-conference squads.


FIRST-TEAM: Wheelersburg‘s Aaron Jolly, Brady Warren, Will Darling, Luke Pauley, Eric Green, Logan Davis, Jacob Saxby and Lane Jordan; South Webster‘s Gabe Ruth, Braden Martin, Gavin Bennett, Brice Robnett and Trae Zimmerman; Minford‘s Caden Banks, Skyler Knore, Evan Wheeler and Adam Cordle; Northwest‘s Jeremiah Bruch, Dylan Dehart and Brycen Carver; Waverly‘s Britton Kritzwiser and Drake Teeters; West’s Caleb Hazelbaker

SECOND-TEAM: Wheelersburg‘s Mason Nolan, Preslee Etterling and Nathan Sylvia; South Webster‘s Aidan Andrews, Stephen Smith and Tristan Robinson; Minford‘s Josh Wiehle and Brayden Davis; Northwest‘s Eli Dunn and Kyle Butler; Waverly‘s Trace Evans; West’s Austin Throckmorton and Jared Opperman


FIRST-TEAM: Waverly‘s Loren Moran, Michaela Rhoades, Amelia Willis, Alexis Murphy, Kylie Smith, Kylee Murphey, Anna Jordan and Zoiee Smith; Wheelersburg‘s Jordan Jennings, Lani Irwin, Chelsee Steele, Morgan Bivens, Laney Eller, Alaina Keeney, Jocelyn Tilley and Allie Vallance; Minford‘s Haley Knore, Ali Brumfield, Hannah Tolle and Sarah Bender; Ironton St. Joseph‘s Emma Whaley, Laikon Unger, Bella Whaley and Chloe Sheridan; Northwest‘s Eva Reyes and Ellie Curtis; West‘s Brooke Kazee; Valley‘s Lucie Ashkettle

SECOND-TEAM: Waverly‘s Lydia Brown, Kaylee Spencer and Brooke Elliott; Wheelersburg‘s Annie Corriel, Emma Saltsman and Kylan Darnell; Minford‘s Alyssa Coriell and Makayla Watters; Ironton St. Joseph‘s Kaitlyn Sheridan and Aubrey Sutton; Northwest‘s Kayley Hamilton; West‘s Preslee Jenkins and Lexy Quirasco


FIRST-TEAM: Ironton St. Joseph‘s Zach Roach, Ryan Payne, Jackson Rowe, Jimmy Mahlmeister, Bryce Balestra, Max Weber, Jared Johnson and J.C. Damron; Clay‘s Bryce Toomire, Dakota Dodds, Reece Whitley, Clay Cottle and Evan Woods; Valley‘s Cameron Phillips, Austin Sommers and A.J. Johnson, Wesley Holbrook; New Boston‘s Blake Grant, Malachai Potts and Kyle Sexton

SECOND-TEAM: Ironton St. Joseph‘s Michael Mahlmeister, Matthew Sheridan and Andrew White; Clay‘s Preston Jackson, Jaden Jessee and Jacob Eichenlaub; Valley‘s Bryce Stuart and Christian Petry; New Boston‘s Tanner Voiers and Marcus Saunders

Share this post