Addie Erslan
Picture of Derrick Webb

Derrick Webb

Derrick is SOSA's chief content coordinator and has worked for the Chillicothe Gazette, the Portsmouth Daily Times and Eleven Warriors. He's a 13-time award-winning journalist, a self-proclaimed baseball purist, a suffering Bengals fan and has never met a stranger.

Chillicothe’s Erslan, Jackson’s Ghearing bring home FAC Player of the Year honors

The Frontier Athletic Conference released its all-conference teams Tuesday afternoon.

SOSA Staff Report

Chillicothe’s Addie Erslan and Jackson’s Collin Ghearing have added to their already-large trophy cases as the two were named the Frontier Athletic Conference’s Soccer Players of the Year, Tuesday afternoon.

Jackson’s Collin Ghearing is the Frontier Athletic Conference’s Player of the Year.
CREDIT: Derrick Webb/SOSA

On the girls side, Erslan led the Cavaliers to a perfect 10-0 mark in the FAC alongside an overall mark of 14-2-2. She most recently scored three goals in the team’s 4-0 win over Hillsboro in a Division II sectional final.

Ghearing has also led his team to a sectional title, scoring three goals in two tournament wins so far. Behind him, the Ironmen are 14-4 overall and finished second in the FAC with a 8-2 mark.

Joining Erslan with all-conference honors are teammates Caroline Ford, Gemma Maimone and Zoe Ford, Jackson’s Brynlee Vermillion, Taylor Thorpe and Emma Wiley, Hillsboro’s Lexi Sheppard, Miami Trace’s Aubrey Schwartz, Margarah Bloom and Morgan Eggleton, and McClain’s pair of Kerigan Pollard and Kayla Anderson.

Joining Ghearing with all-conference honors on the boys side is teammate and goalkeeper Ty Broermann, Chillicothe’s Michael Herlihy, Brady Wood and Tito Garcia, Washington’s Grant Kuhlwein, Miami Trace’s Kyler Conn, Caleb Perry and Miguel Iturriagagoitia Azagra, Hillsboro’s Titus Heiser and Brock Haines, and McClain’s Griffin Foltz and Braeden Bergstrom.

The Cavaliers also won the boys soccer title with a mark of 9-0-1.

Share this post