Alli McQuay, Kylee Barney
Picture of Derrick Webb

Derrick Webb

Derrick is SOSA's chief content coordinator and has worked for the Chillicothe Gazette, the Portsmouth Daily Times and Eleven Warriors. He's a 13-time award-winning journalist, a self-proclaimed baseball purist, a suffering Bengals fan and has never met a stranger.

Wheelersburg’s McQuay, Notre Dame’s Schaefer, South Webster’s Maloney earn District 14 POY honors

The District 14 Volleyball Coaches Association released their all-district teams Monday morning.

SOSA Staff Report

The District 14 Volleyball Coaches Association released their all-district teams Monday morning and three familiar names led the list.

In Division III, Wheelersburg’s Alli McQuay was named the Player of the Year while Pirates coach Allen Perry took home Coach of the Year honors.

Notre Dame’s Cassie Schaefer was named the District 14 Coaches Player of the Year.
CREDIT: Renee Nemeth/SOSA

In Division IV, the Player of the Year honor was split between Notre Dame’s Cassie Schaefer and South Webster’s Faith Maloney while Titans coach Cassidy Roney earned the Coach of the Year honor.

McQuay, a senior, leads the Pirates in kills with 200 alongside 38 aces and a .324 hitting percentage. Wheelersburg currently sits at 23-0 on the year.

Schaefer recently logged her 2,000th career assist and has led the Titans to a 20-3 mark during her senior year. She’s tallied 571 assists this season alongside 176 digs and 44 service aces. Maloney has been equally impressive at the net as the sophomore has totaled 320 kills, 66 blocks and 187 digs while leading the Jeeps to an 18-5 record.

In Division II, Fairfield Union’s Rylee Barr was voted as the Player of the Year while Waverly’s Nancy Terry is the Coach of the Year.

First-team all-district honors in Division II were awarded to Chillicothe’s Sophie Fulkerson, Waverly’s Carli Knight, Washington’s Rayana Burns, Circleville’s Kenzie McConnell and Unioto’s Amber Cottrill while second-team honors were earned by Fairfield Union’s Morgan Hartman, Waverly’s Hailie Silcott, Chillicothe’s Payton McBee, Miami Trace’s Olivia Fliehman, Unioto’s Hallie Pinkerton and Washington’s Halli Wall.

Earning honorable mention honors within SOSA’s coverage area is McClain’s Jaelyn Pitzer, Unioto’s Kacey Pierce and Miami Trace’s Laura Robinson.

In Division III, Westfall’s Kristin Phillips, Southeastern’s Skylar Hice, Huntington’s Megan Steele, Adena’s Jenna Martin and Northwest’s Haidyn Wamsley are all first-team honorees. Earning second-team honors are Wheelersburg’s Kylee Barney and Mallory Bergan, Huntington’s Allison Basye, Westfall’s Josie Williams and Minford’s Maddie Slusher.

Huntington’s Megan Steele is a first-team all-district selection in Division III.
CREDIT: Derrick Webb/SOSA

Third-team honors were also handed out, going to Zane Trace’s Alli Bennett, Wheelersburg’s Emily Boggs and Adena’s pair of Ellie Harper and Camryn Carroll.Earning honorable mention honors within SOSA’s coverage area is Northwest’s Reagan Lewis, Southeastern’s Hannah Lougheed, Minford’s Ally Coriell, Huntington’s Alyssa Steele, Westfall’s Marissa Mullins and Zane Trace’s Laynee Hill.

In Division IV, first-team honors go to Clay’s Jaelyn Warnock, Western’s Carigan Haggy, Notre Dame’s Sophia Hassel and South Webster’s Bri Claxon. Second-team honors are with Notre Dame’s Taylor Schmidt, Eastern’s Skylar White, New Boston’s Lexus Oiler and Paint Valley’s Olivia Smith.

Earning honorable mention honors within SOSA’s coverage area is South Webster’s Graci Claxon, Paint Valley’s Abbi Stanforth and Averi McFadden, Notre Dame’s Ava Hassel and Claire Dettwiller, Green’s Kame Sweeney, Eastern’s Katie Newsome and Addison Cochenour,and New Boston’s Shelby Easter.

Share this post