Picture of Derrick Webb

Derrick Webb

Derrick is SOSA's chief content coordinator and has worked for the Chillicothe Gazette, the Portsmouth Daily Times and Eleven Warriors. He's a 13-time award-winning journalist, a self-proclaimed baseball purist, a suffering Bengals fan and has never met a stranger.

Unioto moves up, Westfall, Zane Trace move down as OHSAA announces football divisional assignments

The OHSAA released its 2019 football divisional assignments Tuesday afternoon.

SOSA Staff Report

COLUMBUS — The Ohio High School Athletic Association announced its 2019 football divisional assignments Tuesday afternoon as multiple local programs found themselves on the move.

The most significant moves came within the Scioto Valley Conference as Unioto made a jump into Division III while both Westfall and Zane Trace fell to Division V.

The OHSAA listed Unioto’s move up due to a rise in enrollment numbers. The Shermans, according to the OHSAA’s numbers, are one of 55 teams across the state to do so for that reason.

Westfall and Zane Trace’s fall to Division V are due to the exact opposite reason … a drop in enrollment. Overall, there were 47 programs that took a dive down due to that reason.

Elsewhere, Hillsboro dropped from Division III to IV. The Indians are now one of three D-IV teams in the Frontier Athletic Conference, joining McClain and Washington.

In the smaller Southern Ohio Conference, Eastern dropped from Division VI to VII due to competitive balance. The Eagles are one of 14 schools to do so.

Take a look at the full breakdown of the SVC, FAC, SOC I and SOC II’s divisional assignments below. For a complete list across Ohio, click here.

AdenaScioto ValleyDivision VIDivison VI
HuntingtonScioto ValleyDivision VIDivision VI
Paint ValleyScioto ValleyDivision VIDivision VI
PiketonScioto ValleyDivision VDivision VI
SoutheasternScioto ValleyDivision VIDivision VI
UniotoScioto ValleyDivision III (+1)Division IV
WestfallScioto ValleyDivision V (-1)Division IV
Zane TraceScioto ValleyDivision V (-1)Division IV
ChillicotheFrontier AthleticDivision IIDivision II
JacksonFrontier AthleticDivision IIIDivision III
HillsboroFrontier AthleticDivision IV (-1)Division III
McClainFrontier AthleticDivision IVDivision IV
Miami TraceFrontier AthleticDivision IIIDivision III
WashingtonFrontier AthleticDivision IVDivision IV
MinfordSouthern Ohio IIDivision VDivision V
NorthwestSouthern Ohio IIDivision VDivision V
Oak HillSouthern Ohio IIDivision VDivision V
ValleySouthern Ohio IIDivision VIDivision VI
WaverlySouthern Ohio IIDivision IVDivision IV
WestSouthern Ohio IIDivision VDivision V
WheelersburgSouthern Ohio IIDivision VDivision V
EastSouthern Ohio IDivision VIIDivision VII
EasternSouthern Ohio IDivision VII (-1)Division VI
GreenSouthern Ohio IDivision VIIDivision VII
Notre DameSouthern Ohio IDivision VIIDivision VII
Symmes ValleySouthern Ohio IDivision VIIDivision VII

Share this post