Chad Ison
Picture of Derrick Webb

Derrick Webb

Derrick is SOSA's chief content coordinator and has worked for the Chillicothe Gazette, the Portsmouth Daily Times and Eleven Warriors. He's a 13-time award-winning journalist, a self-proclaimed baseball purist, a suffering Bengals fan and has never met a stranger.

Zane Trace’s Chad Ison named SVC’s POY, all-league teams released

The SVC released its all-league baseball teams Thursday morning.

SOSA Staff Report

CHILLICOTHE — After hitting .375 alongside 27 runs scored and 23 RBIs, as well as throwing 52 innings with 54 strikeouts and a 2.15 ERA, Zane Trace’s Chad Ison has been named the SVC’s Player of the Year.

Ison, a senior and a Cincinnati Christian baseball commit, has led the Pioneers to a 20-7 campaign this season and a second place finish in the league with a 10-4 mark.

Unioto’s Cameron DeBord is a first-team all-SVC selection after hitting .360 this season.
CREDIT: Derrick Webb/SOSA

Westfall’s Trevor Thomas was named the SVC Coach of the Year after leading his Mustangs to a 11-3 league season with a 20-4 overall mark.

Joining Ison with first-team honors was Unioto sophomore Cameron DeBord, who hit .360 with 24 runs scored and 12 stolen bases. DeBord was 7-2 on the hill with 58 strikeouts and a 1.52 ERA in 46 innings pitched.

Paint Valley’s Macky McDonald, Adena’s Zach Fout and Ethan Kunkel, Westfall’s Titan Williams and Connor Spohn, Zane Trace’s Cam Farley and Huntington’s Elijah McCloskey were all also first-team honorees.

The league’s top hitter, Unioto’s Carson DeBord, led the second-team honorees after batting .416 and scoring 21 runs. Joining him are Zane Trace’s Lane Larson and Elliott Lynn, Paint Valley’s Lane Mettler, Piketon’s Kannon Pack, Westfall’s Luke Blackburn and Matt Baemel, Southeastern’s Ike Diehl, Adena’s Roman Long.

Paint Valley’s Lane Mettler is a first-team all-SVC selection.
CREDIT: Derrick Webb/SOSA

Honorable mention selections were as follows: Adena’s Garrett Wilburn and Caleb Foglesong, Huntington’s Gavin Free and Seth Beeler, Paint Valley’s Bryce Newland and Brock Blanton, Piketon’s Shane Vulgamore and Scott Lightle, Southeastern’s Bryce McWhorter and Aaron Gillum, Unioto’s Nate Keiser and Jeremy Lambert, Westfall’s Brayton Felger and Eric Corzatt, and Zane Trace’sTanner Congrove and Kody Haubeil.

Share this post