Marcy Dudgeon
Picture of Derrick Webb

Derrick Webb

Derrick is SOSA's chief content coordinator and has worked for the Chillicothe Gazette, the Portsmouth Daily Times and Eleven Warriors. He's a 13-time award-winning journalist, a self-proclaimed baseball purist, a suffering Bengals fan and has never met a stranger.

Westfall’s Marcy Dudgeon named SVC’s POY, all-league teams released

The Scioto Valley Conference announced its all-league softball teams Friday morning.

SOSA Staff Report

CHILLICOTHE — After leading her team to a third straight conference title and a second straight Gold Ball, Westfall’s Marcy Dudgeon has been named the Scioto Valley Conference’s softball Player of the Year.

Dudgeon did her damage both at the plate and in the circle, leading the Mustangs to a 21-4 overall mark. During those 25 games, the junior posted a .537 batting average alongside 22 RBIs and 34 runs. She also posted 19 wins in the circle with a sparkling 1.53 ERA and a total of 146 strikeouts.

Dudgeon’s head coach Fred Redman was named the SVC Coach of the Year after guiding his Mustangs to those 21 wins and a No. 1 seed in the Division III Southeast District tournament.

Unioto’s Jocie Fisher is a first-team all-league selection after guiding the Shermans to 19 wins this season.
CREDIT: Jenny Campbell

Joining Dudgeon with first-team honors was two of her teammates in shortstop Josie Williams and third baseman Ayzia Fullen.

Unioto’s Jocie Fisher and Hallie Pinkerton were also first-team selections after willing the Shermans to a second place finish in the SVC and 19 wins. Huntington pitcher Kylee Kellough, Paint Valley catcher Lea McFadden, Zane Trace shortstop Evie Bennett and Adena outfielder Sydnie Havens rounded out the first-team list.

Earning second-team honors were Unioto freshman Avery Miller and senior Jayla Campbell, Huntington junior Lillie Snyder, Westfall senior Sami Tackett and junior Liz Stonerock, Adena sophomore Sarah Posey, Southeastern freshman Lexi Lockwood, Zane Trace senior Destini Hitchens, and Piketon senior Mary Williams.

Huntington’s Kylee Kellough was a first-team selection in the SVC.
CREDIT: Jenny Campbell

Honorable mention selections were as follows: Adena’s Liv Sheppard and Chey Ater, Huntington’s Braiden Collins and Brodey Entler, Paint Valley’s Olivia Smith and Abbi Stanforth, Piketon’s Myranda Lansing and Abigail Carter, Southeastern’s Cidney Huff and Ameris Cooper, Unioto’s Haley Holt and Carissa Wheeler, Westfall’s Kylee Henry and Maddy Mullins, and Zane Trace’s Brianna Fetters and Alexis Guffey.

Share this post