Abbie Kallner
Picture of Derrick Webb

Derrick Webb

Derrick is SOSA's chief content coordinator and has worked for the Chillicothe Gazette, the Portsmouth Daily Times and Eleven Warriors. He's a 13-time award-winning journalist, a self-proclaimed baseball purist, a suffering Bengals fan and has never met a stranger.

Holden, Kallner, Miller and Dettwiller headline SOC’s all-league teams

The Southern Ohio Conference released its all-league boys and girls basketball teams Tuesday afternoon.

SOSA Staff Report

The Southern Ohio Conference released its all-league boys and girls basketball teams Tuesday afternoon as four players were recognized with Player of the Year accolades.

In the conference’s smaller division, the SOC I, Eastern’s Michael Miller and Notre Dame’s Katie Dettwiller earned the honors while Wheelersburg’s pair of Tanner Holden and Abbie Kallner swept the SOC II honors.

Miller led the Eagles to a 22-2 overall mark alongside a 14-0 season in the SOC I while averaging 15.8 points per night. Dettwiller averaged 16.7 points, 8.5 rebounds and 4.3 blocks per game as her Titans won a second consecutive Division IV district crown.

Waverly’s Cody Remington earned Defensive Player of the Year honors in the SOC II.
CREDIT: Photos by Jenny Campbell

Holden’s Pirates are still playing at 25-0 and in a Division III regional semifinal. The senior Wright State commit was also named the Southeast District Player of the Year with an average of 27 points per game.

Kallner led Wheelersburg’s girls to conference, sectional and district crowns, as well as a regional final appearance, while scoring 15.8 points per outing. The senior ends her career with 1,251 points.

Also earning recognition was Eastern’s Evan Leist and Glenwood’s Kyle Sexton, who were named the SOC I co-Defensive Players of the Year. On the girls side, that honor went to Notre Dame’s Taylor Schmidt.

In the SOC II, Waverly’s Cody Remington and Oak Hill’s Caitlyn Brisker earned Defensive POY honors.

In the SOC I, Eastern’s Tom Barrick [boys] and Notre Dame’s JD McKenzie [girls] were named the league’s Coaches of the Year, while Wheelersburg’s Steven Ater [boys] and Dusty Spradlin [girls] earned the same honors in the SOC II.


On the boys side, joining Miller, Leist and Sexton with first-team all-SOC I honors were Eastern’s Cody Weaver, Glenwood’s Tyler Caldwell, Western’s Lane Brewster and Broc Jordan, Symmes Valley’s Jack Leith, Green’s Tanner Kimbler, Clay’s Hunter Mathias, East’s Will Shope and Notre Dame’s Ben Mader.

The following players were named second-team all-SOC I: Eastern’s Hunter Cochenour and Parker Clemmons, Glenwood’s Grady Jackson and Jerome McKinley, Western’s Maverick Ferneau, Symmes Valley’s Drew Scherer, Green’s Gage Sampson, Clay’s Reece Whitley, East’s Kyle Flannery and Notre Dame’s Jackson Clark.

Notre Dame’s Taylor Schmidt earned first-team all-conference honors in the SOC I.
CREDIT: Photos by Jenny Campbell

As for the girls, joining Dettwiller and Schmidt with first-team honors were Notre Dame’s Ava Hassel, Clay’s Jensen Warnock and Skylar Artis, Western’s Sylvia Evans and Haley Whitt, Symmes Valley’s Rachael Hayes, Green’s Kasey Kimbler, Glenwood’s Lexus Oiler, Eastern’s Abby Cochenhour and East’s Grace Smith.

Earning second-team honors were Notre Dame’s Olivia Smith and Clara Hash, Clay’s Sophie Balestra and Cameron DeLotell, Western’s Abby Gast, Symmes Valley’s Taylor Sells, Green’s Kame Sweeney, Glenwood’s Sammy Oiler, Eastern’s Morgan Legg-Saulsbury and East’s Ali Escamila.


Earning first-team status alongside Holden and Remington were Wheelersburg’s J.J. Truitt and Connor Mullins, Waverly’s Cobe Marquez and Cody Remmington, Oak Hill’s Mason Darby and Chase Hammond, South Webster’s Shiloah Blevins, Minford’s Cam Dalton, Valley’s Andrew Shope, West’s Jesse Johnson and Northwest’s Billy Crabtree.

Second-team honors were given to Wheelersburg’s Trent Salyers and Matthew Miller, Waverly’s Trey Robertson and Easton Wolf, Oak Hill’s Drew Hanning, South Webster’s Braden Bockway, Minford’s Kelton Kelley, Valley’s Tanner Cunningham, West’s Dylan Bradford and Northwest’s Chase McClay.

Bre Call led Valley in scoring this past season. She’s a first-team all-SOC selection.
CREDIT: Derrick Webb/SOSA

On the girls side, Kallner and Brisker were joined on first-team by Wheelersburg’s pair of Kaylee Darnell and Ellie Kallner, Oak Hill’s Payton Crabtree, Minford’s Ashley Blankenship and Caitlyn Puckett, Waverly’s Zoiee Smith, Valley’s Bre Call, South Webster’s Maddie Cook, Northwest’s Haidyn Wamsley and West’s Morgan Rigsby.

Second-team honors were given to Wheelersburg’s Alaina Keeney and Karlie Estep, Oak Hill’s Olivia Clarkson and Chloe Chambers, Minford’s Hannah Tolle and Livi Shonkwiler, Waverly’s Kami Knight, Valley’s Bailee Day, South Webster’s Kenzie Hornikel, Northwest’s Keirah Potts and West’s Jordyn Swords.

The SOC All-Star game will be played on Match 19 at South Webster High School. That night’s events will include a girls and boys game, a 3-point shooting contest and an awards ceremony.

Share this post