Cam Evans
Derrick Webb

Derrick Webb

Derrick is SOSA's chief content coordinator and has worked for the Chillicothe Gazette, the Portsmouth Daily Times and Eleven Warriors. He's a 13-time award-winning journalist, a self-proclaimed baseball purist, a suffering Bengals fan and has never met a stranger.

Zane Trace’s Cam Evans named SVC’s POY, all-league teams released

Derrick Webb, Staff Writer

CHILLICOTHE — The hits just keep on coming for Cam Evans.

After leading Zane Trace to its first conference title since 2009-2010, and its first Gold Ball since 2000-2001 — just the second such occurrence in program history — the dynamic junior has been named the SVC Player of the Year … by a unanimous vote.

Throughout the entire regular season, Evans was the focal point of each of the Pioneers’ opponents’ gameplans. But that never slowed down his production.

Evans finished the season averaging 25.2 points per game, a league high, alongside four rebounds, 2.6 assists and 2.2 steals. He shot 189-of-385 from the floor and hit 44-of-123 3-point field goal attempts.

Huntington’s Elijah McCloskey earned a first-team all-SVC selection with averages of 19.6 points and 6.6 rebounds.
CREDIT: Derrick Webb/SOSA

He’s the first Pioneer to win the award since Pierce Mowery in 2013-2014 and the first to win it outright since Kirk Maxwell in 2009-2010.

“Getting SVC Player of the Year is an amazing accomplishment. I had my sights on it all year, and to be able to achieve it is great,” Evans said. “I want to give a big thank you to my team and coaches for always pushing me to be better in practice and in games … and a big thank you goes out to my family for always supporting me and keeping me level-headed. I’m so thankful and blessed.”

Evans’ head coach, Gary Kellough, was named the SVC Coach of the Year after guiding the Pioneers to an 18-4 overall record. The honor marks the seventh of Kellough’s career and the first since the 2000-2001 season.

Joining Evans with first-team all-conference honors were Huntington’s Elijah McCloskey, Piketon’s Alex Blanton, Adena’s Zach Fout and Paint Valley’s Bryce Newland.

McCloskey led the Huntsmen on a six-game winning streak to end the regular season and has posted averages of 19.6 points and 6.6 rebounds. Blanton was Piketon’s go-to scorer, averaging 18.9 points per game, and has led the ‘Streaks to a 13-10 record.

Fout and Newland were equally effective for their respective teams. Fout put up 16 points and hit 27 3-point field goals for the second-place Warriors while Newland basically averaged a double-double at 14.8 points and 9.9 rebounds.

Adena’s Jarrett Garrison is a third-team all-SVC selection.
CREDIT: Chad Siders

Zane Trace junior Nick Nesser, Adena sophomore Logan Bennett, Unioto sophomore Isaac Little, Southeastern junior Lane Ruby and Paint Valley senior Caden Grubb make up the five second-team all-SVC selections.

Earning third-team all-league honors were Westfall’s Jay Wyman, Zane Trace’s Colby Swain, Adena’s Jarrett Garrison, Unioto’s Cameron DeBord and Huntington’s Seth Beeler.

Honorable mention selections were as follows: Adena’s Caleb Foglesong and Preston Sykes, Huntington’s Nate Snyder and DJ Kinzer, Paint Valley’s Cruz McFadden and PJ McCallister, Piketon’s Scott Lightle and Tyree Harris, Southeastern’s Aaron Gillum and Reece Wheeler, Unioto’s Chance Smith and Cade McKee, Westfall’s Trent Hampton and Jared Kaiser, and Zane Trace’s Triton Davison and Luke Johnson.

Share this post