Jacey Justice
Picture of Derrick Webb

Derrick Webb

Derrick is SOSA's chief content coordinator and has worked for the Chillicothe Gazette, the Portsmouth Daily Times and Eleven Warriors. He's a 13-time award-winning journalist, a self-proclaimed baseball purist, a suffering Bengals fan and has never met a stranger.

Oak Hill’s Brisker, Peebles’ Justice lead area Division III, IV All-Ohio selections

The OPSWA released its All-Ohio girls basketball teams in Division III and IV, Monday afternoon.

SOSA Staff Report

COLUMBUS — The Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association released its Division III and IV girls basketball teams Monday afternoon and multiple names within SOSA’s coverage area appeared on the lists.

In Division III, Oak Hill’s Caitlyn Brisker earned first-team all-Ohio honors after leading the Oaks to a district championship appearance.

Eastern Brown’s Camryn Pickerill is a second-team All-Ohio selection while both Huntington’s Allison Basye and Wheelersburg’s Kaylee Darnell received third-team all-state honors.

Division III Coach of the Year honors were shared between Eastern Brown’s Kevin Pickerill and Arcanum’s Michael Dean.

Southeastern’s Macie Graves, Eastern Brown’s Rylee Leonard Northwest’s Haidyn Wamsley and North Adams’ Delaney Harper are all special mention honorees while Southeastern’s Skylar Hice, Adena’s Hannah Stark, Lynchburg-Clay’s Zoe Fittro, Fairfield’s Emma Fouch, Eastern Brown’s Mackenzie Gloff, West’s Morgan Rigbsy, Northwest’s Keirah Potts and Wheelersburg’s Alaina Keeney are honorable mention selections.

In Division IV, Peebles’ Jacey Justice is a first-team All-Ohioan after averaging 26.5 points per game and leading her Indians to a second straight district title.

Notre Dame’s Ava Hassel is a second-team selection after pacing the Titans to their first-ever Elite Eight appearance.

Earning third-team All-Ohio honors is South Webster’s Bri Claxon, who finished with 18.5 points per game.

Special mention honorees include Ironton St. Joe’s Bella Whaley, Eastern’s Abby Cochenour, Manchester’s Brooke Kennedy, New Boston’s Lexus Oiler and Green’s Kasey Kimbler.

Peebles’ Lilly Gray, Clay’s Jaelyn Warnock, New Boston’s Sammy Oiler, Green’s Kame Sweeney and Notre Dame’s Taylor Schmidt are all honorable mention selections. 

For a full look at the OPSWA’s Division III and IV All-Ohio teams, click here.

Share this post